PM Transcripts

Transcripts from the Prime Ministers of Australia

Transcript - 31833

Prime Minister's Literary Awards Judges

Photo of Abbott, Tony

Abbott, Tony

Period of Service: 18/09/2013 to 15/09/2015

More information about Abbott, Tony on The National Archive website.

Release Date: 23/05/2014

Release Type: Media Release

Transcript ID: 31833

The Prime Minister’s Literary Awards are Australia’s richest literary prize. The awards highlight the depth and diversity of Australia’s literary talent in prose, poetry, scholarship, imagination and illustration.


They illustrate the continuing commitment of the Commonwealth Government to the promotion and celebration of the best in Australian writing, as well as ongoing support for the Australian publishing industry.


When entries for the 2014 awards closed, there were more than 480 entrants across six categories – fiction, non-fiction, poetry, history, children’s and young adult.


We are pleased to announce that the judges for the 2014 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards are:


Fiction and poetry

Ms Louise Adler AM (Chair)

Ms Margie Bryant

Mr Jamie Grant

Mr Robert Gray

Mr Les Murray AO


Non-fiction and History

Mr Gerard Henderson (Chair)

Mr Peter Coleman

Professor Ross Fitzgerald

Dr Ida Lichter

Dr Ann Moyal AM


Children and Young adults

Mr Mike Shuttleworth (Chair)

Emeritus Professor Belle Alderman AM (Emeritus Professor)

Ms Kate Colley

Dr Mark MacLeod

Dr Irini Savvides


The 15 members of this year’s three judging panels have experience, expertise and commitment to Australian literature across a wide range of genres. The announcement of the winners is expected to be made in November. A total of $600,000 in prize money is awarded: $80,000 tax-free for each of the six category winners, plus $5,000 tax-free to each of the four shortlisted books in each category.


For more information about the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards visit



23 May 2014

Transcript - 31833