

PRIME MINISTER

MINISTERIAL APPOINTMENTS

I have decided to recommend to the Governor-General a number of changes to ministerial and administrative arrangements.

A copy of the new ministry list is attached, showing details of the changes.

The new ministry is a strong team which reflects the depth of talent available to the Coalition.

I am pleased to welcome to the Cabinet Dr David Kemp as Minister for Employment, Education, Training and Youth Affairs, Mr Daryl Williams as Attorney-General and Mr Mark Vaile, MP, as Minister for Transport and Regional Development.

There will also be changes in the responsibilities of some ministers.

Mrs Judi Moylan will become Minister for the Status of Women. Women's issues will thus receive the full-time attention of a minister within my portfolio. Mr Warwick Smith will replace Mrs Moylan as the Minister for Family Services. Senator Amanda Vanstone will become Minister for Justice in the Attorney-General's portfolio. Senator Chris Ellison will replace Dr Kemp as Minister for Schools, Vocational Education and Training.

Two parliamentary secretaries, Senator Nick Minchin and Mr Andrew Thomson, will be appointed as ministers. Senator Minchin will have responsibilities within the renamed Finance and Administration portfolio as Special Minister of State. He will continue to be responsible to me for Native Title matters and the Constitutional Convention. Mr Thomson is to be given responsibility for sport and tourism and will assist me in relation to the Sydney 2000 Games.

Also joining the ministry will be Mr Warren Truss, MP, as Minister for Customs and Consumer Affairs and Deputy Leader of the House, and Mr Alex Somlyay, MP, as Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government.

05 '97 13:19

2

05/10/97 13:32

I will be appointing Senator Judith Troeth and Mrs Kathryn Sullivan, MP, as parliamentary secretaries.

I will also be recommending to the Governor-General some adjustments to departmental arrangements.

The Department of Administrative Services will be abolished and its functions divided among several other portfolios. A range of Commonwealth common services functions, the Australian Electoral Commission and the Commonwealth Grants Commission will be within the Finance and Administration portfolio.

Some scientific organisations until now located in the Administrative Services portfolio will move to the renamed Industry, Science and Technology portfolio. The Australian Valuation Office will be associated with the Taxation Office and I will take responsibility for awards and national symbols.

Some elements of the Transport and Regional Development Department which deal with maritime matters will move to the Department of Workplace Relations and Small Business, where maritime reform will continue to be a major policy priority under Mr Reith.

The Department of the Environment, Sport and Territories will in future concentrate on its core functions associated with the environment and will be renamed accordingly. Responsibility for sport will move to the Department of Industry, Science and Technology, where its association with tourism under Mr Thomson will be particularly beneficial in the lead up to the Olympic Games. Territories and local government will move to the Department of Transport and Regional Development, where Mr Somlyay will be responsible for a strengthened emphasis on co-ordination of regional development policies.

There will be an Executive Council meeting and swearing-in ceremony at Government House, Canberra, at 10.00am on Thursday, 9 October.

5 October 1997

05/10/97 13:32

Pg: 3

. OCJ. 05 '97 13:19

P.13

Commonwealth Government HOWARD MINISTRY

5 October 1997

), in	JWARD MUISIRI	5 Uclober 1997
Time	MINISTER	OTHER CHAMBER
Primo Minister	The Hon. John Howard, MP	Senator the Hon. Robert Hill
Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs	Senator the Hon. John Herron	The Hon. Dr Michael Wooldridge, MP
dinister for the Status of Women	The Hon. Judi Moylan, MP	Sonator the Hon, Joselyn Newman
Parlianientary Secretary (Cabinet)	Tiu Hon. Cliris Miles. MP	•
Undster for Trade	The Hon. Tim Fischer, MP	Senator the Han. Robert Hill
Deputy Primo Minister)		
Inlater for Foreign Affairs	The Hon. Alexander Downer, MP	Soustor the Hon. Robert Hill
arlianiantary Secretary (Trade)	Senutor the Hon. David Brownhill	
arliamentary Secretary (Foreign Affairs)	Mrs Kathy Sulitvan, MP	
reasurer	The Hon. Peter Costello, MP	Senator the Hen. Rod Kemp
selstant Treasurer	Sonator the Hon. Rod Kemp	The Hon. Peter Costello, MP
arliamentary Secretary	Senator the Hon. Ion Campbell	
Manager of Government Business in the Senate)	•	
finister for Primary Industries and Energy	The Hon. John Anderson, MP	Senator the Hon. Warwick Parer
linister for Resources and Energy	Senator the Hon. Warwick Parer	The Hon. John Anderson, MP
arlianentary Secretary	Senator Judith Trouth	·
linister for the Environment	Senator the Hon. Robert Hill	The Hon. John Anderson, MP
esder of the Government in the Senate)	·- · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
arliamentary Socretary	Senator the Hon. Ian McDonald	
linister for Communications, the Information	Scrator the Hon, Richard Aiston	The Hon. Warwick Smith, MP
conomy and the Arts		- 110 TIVILL ALMI AND DUMMIT TAIL.
Seputy Leader of the Government in the Senate)		
inister for Workplace Relations and Small Business	The Hon. Peter Reith, MP	Senator the Hon. Richard Alston
ender of the House) arliamantary Secretary	The Hon. Alan Cadman, MP	
inister for Social Security urlianentary Secretary	Senstor the Hon. Joselyn Newman	The Hon. Philip Ruddock, MP
artionic many occiousy	Senator the Hon. Grant Tambling	
inister for Industry, Science and Technology	The Hon. John Moore, MP	Senator the Hon. Warwick Parer
lice-President of the Executive Council)		
inister for Sport and Tourism	The Hon. Andrew Thomson, MP	Senator the Hon. Nick Minchin
Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Sydney		
2000 Games		Sonator the Hon. Nick Minchin
linister for Customs and Consumer Affairs	Mr Warren Truss, MP	Senator the Hon Warwick Parer
Deputy Leader of the House)		
inister for Defence	The Hon. Ian McLachlan, AO, MP	Senator the Hon. Jocelyn Newman
inister for Desence Industry, Science and Personnel	The Hon. Bronwyn Bishop, MP	Senator the Hon. Joselyn Newman
mister for Veteraus' Affairs	The Hon. Bruce Scott, MP	Sonator the Hon. Joselyn Newman
inister for Health and Paintly Services	The Hon. Dr Michael Wooldridge, MP	Senator the Hon. John Herron
inister for Family Services	The Hon. Warwick Smith, MP	Senator the Hon. John Herron
rilaniculary Secretary	The Hon. Trish Worth, MP	The state of the s
inister for Finance and Administration	The Hon. John Fahey, MP	Senator the Hon. Rod Kemp (Finance)
	•	Scustor the Hon. Nick Minchin (Admin
ocial Minister of State	Scnator the Hon. Nick Minchin	The Hon. John Fahey, MP
Minister Assisting the Prime Minister		••
nister for Employment, Education, Training and	The Hon. Dr David Kemp, MP	Senator the Hon, Christopher Ellison
with Affaire Minister Appleting the Polyne Minister for the Public		
Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Public Service		Constantha Efen Mist. Mit. set
nister for Schools, Vocational Education and Training	Senator the Hon. Christopher Ellison	Senator the Hon. Nick Minchin
rlianentary Secretary	The Hon Tony Abbott, MP	The Hon. Dr David Komp, MP
formey General	The Hon. Daryl Williams AM, QC, MP	Senator the Hon. Amanda Vanstone
ulster for Justice	Sounder the Hon. Amanda Vanstone	The Hon. Daryl Williams AM, QC, MP
pilster for Transport and Regional Development	Mr Mark Vaile, MP	
nister for Regional Development, Territories and	Mr Alex Somlyay, MP	Senator the Hon. Richard Alston
cal Government	ын гиол оошиуву, МГ	Senator the Hon. Richard Alston
rlianuntary Secretary	The Hon. Michael Konaldson, MP	
nister for Immigration and Multicultural Affairs	The House Diffic Buddesh, here	S
	The Hon. Philip Ruddock, MP	Senator the Hon. Amanda Vanstone