

# PRIME MINISTER

## CABINET COMMITTEES, PARLIAMENTARY SITTINGS AND MINISTERIAL DUTIES

#### Cabinet committees

I have decided to establish the following Cabinet Committees:

- Economic Committee
- Expenditure Review Committee
- National Security Committee
- Legal Committee
- Parliamentary Business Committee

Membership of these Committees is set out in the Attachment.

#### **Parliamentary sittings**

The Thirty-Fighth Parliament will be opened by the Governor-General, Sir William Deane, AC, KBE on Tuesday 30 April 1996.

#### **Ministerial duties**

In view of the significance of the government's privatisation agenda I have appointed Dr Kemp, the Minister for Schools, Vocational Education and Training to assist the Minister for Finance in relation to privatisation. As a consequence, the Minister for Industrial Relations, Mr Reith, will assist the Prime Minister for the public service. Senator Kemp will be Manager of Government Business in the Senate.

17 March 1996

•

# MEMBERSHIP OF CABINET AND COMMITTEES

## <u>Cabinet</u>

Prime Minister Mr Fischer Mr Costello Mr Anderson Senator Hill Senator Alston Mr Reith Senator Newman Mr Downer Mr Moore

Mr McLachlan Mr Sharp Mr Wooldridge Mr Fahey Senator Vanstone

#### **Economic Committee**

Prime Minister (Chairman) Mr Fischer Mr Costello (D) Mr Reith Mr Moore Mr Sharp Mr Fahey Mr Short

#### National Security Committee

Prime Minister (Chairman) Mr Fischer Mr Costello Mr Downer Mr McLachlan Mr Williams

#### Parliamentary Business Committee

Senator Hill (Chairman) Senator Alston (D) Mr Reith Mr Moore Mr McGauran Mr Williams Mr Miles Senator R Kemp

(D) Deputy Chairman

### **Expenditure Review Committee**

Prime Minister (Chairman) Mr Costello (D) Mr Anderson Dr Wooldridge Mr Fahey Mr Short

### Legal Committee

Prime Minister (Chairman) Mr Anderson Senator Hill (D) Senator Alston Senator Vanstone Dr D Kemp Mr Williams .

#### Commonwealth Government

#### HOWARD MINISTRY

11 March 1996

Тгле	MINISTER	OTHER CHAMBER
Prime Minister Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs Parliamentary Secretary (Cabinet) Parliamentary Secretary	The Hon Join Howard, MP Senator the Hon John Herron The Hon Chris Miles, MP Senator the Hon Nick Minchin	Senator the Hon Robert Hill The Hon Dr Michael Wooldridge, MP
Minister for Trade (Deputy Prime Minister) Minister for Foreign Affairs Parliamentary Secretary (Trade) Parliamentary Secretary (Foreign Affairs)	The Hon Tim Fischer, MP The Hon Alexander Downer, MP Senator the Hon David Brownhill The Hon Andrew Thomson, MP	Senator the Hon Robert Hill Senator the Hon Robert Hill
Treasurer Assistant Treasurer Parliamentary Secretary	The Hon Peter Costello, MP Senator the Hon Jim Short Senator the Hon Brian Gibson	Senator the Hon Jun Short The Hon Peter Costello, MP
Minister for Primary Industries and Energy Minister for Resources and Energy Parliamentary Secretary	The Hon John Anderson, MP Senator the Hon Warwick Parer Senator the Hon David Brownhill	Senator the Hon Warwick Parer The Hon John Anderson, MP
Minister for the Environment (Leader of the Government in the Senate)	Senator the Hon Robert Hill	The Hon Warwick Smith, MP
Minister for Sport, Territories and Local Government Parliamentary Secretary	The Hon Warwick Smith, MP Senator the Hon Ian Gordon Campbell	Senator the Hon Robert Hill
Minister for Communications and the Arts (Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate)	Senator the Hon Richard Alston	The Hon Warwick Smith, MP
Minister for Industrial Relations (Leader of the House) Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Public Service	The Hon Peter Reith, MP	Senator the Hon Richard Alston
Minister for Social Security Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Status of Women Parliamentary Secretary (Manager of Government Business in the Senate)	Senator the Hon Jocelyn Newman Senator the Hon Rod Kemp	The Hon Philip Ruddock, MP
Minister for Industry, Science and Tourism (Vice-President of the Executive Council)	The Hoa John Moore, MP	Senator the Hon Warwick Parer
(United for Science and Technology (Deputy Leader of the House)	The Hon Peter McGauran, MP	Senator the Hon Warwick Parer
Minister for Small Business and Consumer Affairs	The Hon Geoff Prosser, MP	Senator the Hon Warwick Parer
Minister for Defence Minister for Defence Industry, Science and Personnel Minister for Veterans' Affairs	The Hon Ian McLachlan, AO, MP The Hon Bronwyn Bishop, MP The Hon Bruce Scott, MP	Senator the Hon Jocelyn Newman Senator the Hon Jocelyn Newman Senator the Hon Jocelyn Newman
Minister for Transport and Regional Development Parliamentary Secretary	The Hon John Sharp, MP Senator the Hon Grant Tambling	Senator the Hon Richard Alston
Minister for Health and Family Services Minister for Family Services Parliamentary Secretary	The Hon Dr Michael Wouldridge, MP The Hon Judi Moylan, MP Senator the Hon Bob Woods	Senator the Hon Jocelyn Newman Senator the Hon Jocelyn Newman
Minister for Finance Minister for Administrative Services	The Hon John Fahey, MP The Hon David Jull, MP	Senator the Hon Jim Short Senator the Hon Jim Short
Minister for Employment, Education, Training and	Senator the Hon Amanda Vanstune	The Hon David Kemp, MP
Youth Affairs Minister for Schools, Vocational Education and Training Minister Assisting the Minister for Finance for Privatisation	The Hon David Kemp, MP	Senator the Hon Amanda Vanstone
Parliamentary Secretary	The Hon Tony Abbott, MP	
Minister for Immigration and Multicultural Affairs	The Hon Philip Ruddock, MP	Senator the Hon Jim Short
Attorney-General and Minister for Justice	The Hon Daryl Williams, AM, QC, MP	Senator the Hon Amanda Vanstone

Each box represents a portfolio. Cabinet Ministers are shown in bold type. As a general rule, there is one Department in each portfolio. Except for the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, the Department of the Environment, Sport and Territories, and the Attorney-General's Department, the title of each Department reflects that of the Portfolio Minister. There is also a Department of Administrative Services in the Finance portfolio: and a Department of Veterans' Affairs in the Defence portfolio.