

## **PRIME MINISTER**

62/92

STATEMENT BY THE PRIME MINISTER, THE HON P.J. KEATING, MP NATIONAL MEETING TO BE HELD JULY 22

A national meeting on youth training and employment will be held in Canberra on Wednesday, July 22.

I have invited about 40 representatives of business, community and youth organisations and unions to consider a range of proposals to increase work and training opportunities for Australia's youth.

At the core of these proposals are several Government measures which I am keen to address.

These include:

a quality TAFE system, responsive to the needs of young people and industry;

consideration of the Carmichael Report and the proposed youth training wage;

the funding of local employment opportunities for young people on community, rural and environmental programs.

Participants in the meeting will include representatives of companies which have already shown an innovative and enthusiastic approach to the employment of young trainees.

The Government will be seeking ideas to assist and promote these efforts and encourage more businesses to follow suit.

Young Australians will have a voice at the meeting through the Australian Youth Policy and Action Coalition as well as through discussions I will have with young people over coming weeks. The meeting will also be attended by the Treasurer, Mr Dawkins, the Minister for Employment, Education and Training, Mr Beazley, the Minister for Industrial Relations, Senator Cook, the Minister for Primary Industries and Energy, Mr Crean, and the Minister for Higher Education and Employment Services, Mr Baldwin.

CANBERRA/MELBOURNE June 23 1992 Those invited to participate in the national meeting on youth training and employment include:

Mr John Prescott (BHP) Mr Solomon Lew (Coles Myer) Mr John Ralph (CRA) Mr Richard Pratt (Pratt Industries) Mr John Haddad (Australian Tourism Commission and Federal Hotels) Mr Eric Mayer (Business in the Community for Young People) Mr John Bell (Esprit) Mr Alex Hamill (George Patterson) Ms Liz Hassack (Bodyshop) Mr Hugh Davies (Mayne Nickless) Mr Lindsay Fox (Linfox) Mr Bert Evans (Metal Trades Industry Association) Mr John Murray (Master Builders' - CHAA) Mr Richard Sweet (Dusseldorp Skills Forum) Mr Peter Wilkinson (Retailers' Council) Business Council of Australia Confederation of Australian Industry Life Be In It Mr Bill Kelty (ACTU) Mr Bill Mansfield (ACTU) Ms Belinda Woods (ACTU Youth Committee) Mr George Campbell (MEWU) Mr Laurie Carmichael (chairman, Employment and Skills Formation Council) (National Farmers' Federation) Mr Rick Farley Premier John Bannon Premier Joan Kirner Mr Paul Turley (chairman, Australian Youth Policy and Action Group) Mr Graeme Frecker (Australian Local Government Assoc.) Ms Alison McClelland (Brotherhood of St Laurence) Archbishop Hollingworth Bishop Michael Challen Ms Merle Mitchell (ACOSS) Mr John Freeland (ACOSS)

## Media arrangements:

The meeting will be held in private at Parliament House, Canberra, but media will have an opportunity to gain overlay footage and record the Prime Minister's opening remarks.