

PRIME MINISTER

52/92

STATEMENT BY THE PRIME MINISTER, THE HON P J KEATING MP

MINISTERIAL ARRANGEMENTS

I welcome Caucus's election of Jeannette McHugh to the Ministry.

I am particularly pleased to welcome her as the third woman in the <u>Labor Ministry</u> - a significant achievement not only for Ms McHugh but a signal, I hope, of greater representation by <u>women</u> at the highest level of government in the future.

Following Ms McHugh's election I am recommending to the Governor-General a number of changes to the Ministry.

The swearing-in is scheduled for 10 a.m. tomorrow.

Senator Collins will be Minister for Transport and Communications.

Senator Cook, the Minister for Industrial Relations, will also become Minister for Shipping and Aviation Support in the Transport and Communications portfolio.

Mr Humphreys, the Minister for Veterans' Affairs will become a member of the Cabinet and take over from Senator Collins as the Minister assisting the Prime Minister for Northern Australia.

Ms McHugh will be appointed as Minister for Consumer Affairs taking over this function from Senator Tate, who will assume added responsibilities assisting the Minister for Immigration.

As Minister for Consumer Affairs, Ms McHugh will have particular responsibility for focussing attention on the impact on families of the Opposition's proposed consumption tax.

Mr Willis is to be appointed Vice-President of the Federal Executive Council.

The Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Transport and Communications, Mr Snowdon, will become Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Employment, Education and Training, Mr Beazley.

A revised Ministry list reflecting my recommendations to the Governor-General will be released shortly.

CANBERRA 26 May 1992

Proposed for 27 May 1992

TEL:

Commonwealth Government

KEATING MINISTRY

Nule	Minister
Prime Minister Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister	The Hon P J Keating, MP The Hon Laurie Breveton, MP
Minister for Hankh, Housing and Community Services Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Social Justice Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Commonwealth-State Relations	The Hon Brian Howe, MP (Deputy Prime Minister)
Minister for Veterant' Affaira	The Hon Ben Humphreys, MP
Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Northern Australia Minister for Aged, Family and Health Services Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Health, Housing and Community Services	The Hon Peter Staples, MP The Hon Gary Johns, MP
Minister for Industry, Technology and Commerce Minister for Science and Technology	Sepator the Hon John Button (Leader of the Government in the Senete) The Hon Ross Free, MP
Minister Assisting the Prime Minister Minister for Small Business, Construction and Customs	The Hon David Beddall, MP
Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade	Senator the Hon Gareth Evans, QC
Minister for Trade and Overseas Development Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade	(Deputy Leader of the Government in the Seaste) The Hon John Kerin, MP The Hon Stephen Martin, MP
Treasurer Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer	The Hon J S Dawkins, MP Senatur the Ilon Bob McMullan (Manager of Government Business in the Secate)
Minister for Finance	The Hon Raiph Willis, MP (Vice-President of the Exceptive Council)
Attorney-General Minister for Justice Minister Assisting the Minister for Immigration, Local Government and Ethnic Affairs	The Hon Michael Duffy, MP Senator the Hon Michael Tate
Minister for Common Affairs Parliamentary Secretary to the Attorney-General	The Hon Peter Duncan, MP
Minister for Employment, Education and Training	The Hon Kim C Bearley, MP
Minister for Higher Education and Employment Services Minister Assisting the Treasurer	(Leader of the House) The Hon Peter Balthwin, MP
Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Aboriginal Reconciliation Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Employment, Education and Training	The Hon Robert Ticknet, MP The Hon Warren Snowdon, MP
Minister for Social Security Minister for Family Support Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Social Security	The Hon Neal Blewett, MP The Ilon David Simmons, MP The Hon Con Sciacca, MP
Minister for Defence	Senator the Hon Robert Ray
Minister for Defence Science and Personnel Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Defence	The Hon Gardon Bliney, MP The Ilon Roger Price, MP
Minister for Immigration, Local Government and Ethnic Affairs Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Multicultural Affairs	The Hon Gerry Hand, MP
Minister for Local Government	The Hon David Simmons, MP
Minister for the Arts, Sport, the Environment and Territories Minister for the Arts and Territories Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Status of Women	The Hon Ros Kelly, MP The Hon Wendy Fails, MP
Minister for Industrial Relations Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Public Service Matters	Senstor the Hon Peter Cook
Minister for Administrative Services	Sepator the Hon Nick Bollom
Minister for Primary Industries and Energy Minister for Resources	The Hon Simon Crean, MP The Hon Alan Griffiths, MP
Minister for Tourism	The Hon Alan Grimum, MP
Minister for Transport and Communications Minister for Shipping and Aviation Support Minister for Land Transport	Senator the Hon Bob Collins Senator the Hon Peter Cook

Portfolio Ministers, all of whom are in the Cabinet, are shown in bold type. Mr Humphreys is also a Cabinet Minister.

A Department with a title reflecting the portfolio Minister's title is administered by the Ministers within each grouping, with one exception; within the Health, Housing and Community Services portfolio, Mr I lowe administers both the Department of Health, Housing and Community Services and the Department of Veterans' Affairs; Mr Staples administers the Department of Health, Housing and Community Services; and Mr Humphreys administers the Department of Veterans' Affairs.