







## FOR MEDIA

13 DECEMBER 1990

## FIRST NATIONAL ROAD TRAUMA ADVISORY COUNCIL MEETING

Members of the National Road Trauma Advisory Council met in Canberra today to consider road safety and health issues. Brian Howe, Bob Brown and I attended the inaugural meeting which considered the integration of health and transport issues.

The eight member Advisory Council was established to allow health professionals and other community groups to help formulate road and vehicle safety standards. It is based on a proposal put to me by the Australian Medical Association and, in particular, Sir Dennis Paterson. The Australian Medical Association has done a great deal to support the Council's development. The State Premiers and Chief Ministers have also agreed to support the Council and its proposals.

Three year appointees are Sir Nicholas Shehadie, Professor Sir Dennis Paterson, Mr Gordon Trinca, Mr Bill Horman and Mr Peter Makeham.

Dr Ruth Marshall, Mr Ray Brown and Ms Margaret Starrs were appointed for two years.

The Council has been appointed to advise the Government on effective and achievable ways to cut further the number of people killed and injured on Australian roads. In particular, it will identify principal causes of road crashes and may propose national policies leading to a reduction in road trauma. While much of the emphasis in recent years has been on heavy vehicle safety, there is a continuing need to examine trends in passenger vehicle safety. For example, the Council will have before it a paper on future directions in occupant protection which includes discussion of devices such as air bags.

The Council will report to the Premiers and to me annually and findings will be tabled in Federal Parliament.

Details of appointees' careers are available from the Office of the Minister for Land Transport.