2 a.



## PRIME MINISTER

FOR MEDIA

5 OCTOBER 1989

I wish to announce details of the membership and initial work program of the Prime Minister's Science Council.

The creation of the Council was one of the measures announced in the joint statement 'Science and Technology for Australia', which I and the Minister Assisting for Science and Technology, Mr Jones, released in May of this year.

In that statement, Mr Jones and I said that the Council would be 'a major new national forum for consideration of science and technology issues'. The Council will meet at least twice a year to consider issues of national importance in science and technology.

The membership of the Council is attached.

The Council will meet for the first time on Friday 6 October in the Cabinet Room of Parliament House. There will be two principal items for discussion: global climatic change and the issues it raises for Australia, and Australia's scientific and technological resources and their utilisation.

The Council will be joined for each discussion by scientists and business people familiar with these issues, some of whom have been invited to present papers to the Council. These papers will be published after the meeting.

I also wish to announce that the Coordination Committee on Science and Technology had held its first meeting under its Chairman, Professor Ralph Slatyer. The Committee, which comprises senior officials from Commonwealth departments and agencies engaged in the conduct or funding of research and development, was also created as part of the strategy for science and technology announced in the May statement. The Committee is expected to hold about four meetings a year.

The Committee provides a means for departments and agencies to share information on their research activities and coordinate their views on matters requiring the attention of the Government.

At its first meeting, the Committee held preliminary discussions on two major issues: human resources for research and development and the related question of career structures for scientists, and ways of selecting priority areas for research.

The Committee will meet again in October to consider papers on both these issues and on other matters raised by members.

Further information: Eric James 71 5209 (W) 55 1289 (H)

## MEMBERSHIP OF THE PRIME MINISTER'S SCIENCE COUNCIL

The Prime Minister (Chair)

The Hon Barry Jones, MP Minister Assisting for Science and Technology (Deputy Chair)

The Hon Neal Blewett, MP Minister for Community Services and Health

Senator the Hon John Button, Minister for Industry, Technology and Commerce

The Hon John Dawkins, MP Minister for Employment, Education and Training

The Hon John Kerin, MP Minister for Primary Industries and Energy

Dr Keith Boardman, FAA, FRS Chief Executive of CSIRO

Professor Ray Martin, AO, FAA Chairman of the Australian Science and Technology Council

A representative of the Australian Council of Trade Unions

Professor Brian Anderson, FAA, FRS Head of the Department of Systems Engineering in the Research School of Physical Sciences at the Australian National University

Sir Gustav Nossal, AC FAA, FRS Director of the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research

Professor Cheryl Praeger, Professor of Pure Mathematics at the University of Western Australia

Sir Peter Abeles, Managing Director of TNT

Mr Roger Allen, Managing Director of Computer Power

Mr Trevor Eastwood, Managing Director of Wesfarmers

Mr John Ralph, AO Managing Director and Chief Executive of CRA

Dr John Stocker, Managing Director of AMRAD

Professor Ralph Slatyer, AO, FAA, FRS Chief Scientist (Executive Officer)