



## PRIME MINISTER

FOR MEDIA

23 JULY 1987

Subject to the requirements of the Public Service Act the Prime Minister proposes to recommend to the Governor-General the following appointments as Secretaries to Departments.

Industrial Relations

- Mr R M Taylor AO

Employment, Education and Training

- Dr V W FitzGerald

Transport and Communications - Dr P S Wilenski AO

Primary Industries and Energy - Mr G C Evans

The Arts, Sport, the - Mr A S Blunn Environment, Tourism and Territories

Community Services and Health - Mr A J-Ayers AO

In the case of all other Departments the existing Department Secretary will continue (list attached).

The Prime Minister also announced that the following would be appointed as Associate Secretaries to Departments:

Attorney-General's

- Mr A D Rose

Transport and Communications

- Mr R D Beale - Mr C W M Freeland

Foreign Affairs and Trade

- Mr G L Miller

Employment, Education and

- Ms H Williams

Training

Primary Industries and Energy - Mr A D McGaurr

The Arts, Sport, the Environment, Tourism and Territories

Mr P J Galvin (Environment)Mr W J Harris (Territories)

Community Services and Health - Mr B V McKay

Mr McKay will act as Secretary of the Department of Community Services and Health until the completion of Mr Ayers' appointment in the Efficiency Scrutiny Unit.

Mr J D Enfield will be recommended for appointment as the new Public Service Commissioner and in the interim will be appointed to the Public Service Board.

Mr H B MacDonald will be recommended for appointment to a senior position in the Data Protection Agency.

Dr W J McG Tegart has been appointed as Secretary to the Australian Science and Technology Council.

Mr E M W Visbord OBE will be recommended to the Governor-General for appointment as Ambassador to the OECD.

## DEPARTMENTAL SECRETARIES OF EXISTING DEPARTMENTS

Prime Minister and Cabinet - Mr M H Codd

Attorney-General's - Mr P Brazil

Industry, Technology and - Dr D T Charles

Commerce

Treasury - Mr B Fraser

Immigration, Local Government - Mr R L Brown

and Ethnic Affairs

Finance - Dr M S Keating

Foreign Affairs and Trade - Dr S Harris

Defence - Mr A J Woods AO

Social Security - Mr D Volker

\*\*Iministrative Services - Mr G G Glenn

Veterans Affairs - Mr N J Tanzer

Thoriginal Affairs - Mr C N Perkins AO