

## PRIME MINISTER

## FOR MEDIA

22 JULY 1987

## TEIND ENERE HIMISIRY FARLIAMENVIAN & CAUCUS POSITIONS

Caucus today mat to elect the Ministry and other officers for the 35th Parliament. As I foreshadowed yesterday, the new Ministry is a well balanced and talented team. I am now pleased to announce the full list with the portfolios which I will be recommending to the Governor-General. The list provides details of proposed representation in the other Chamber.

The positions are as follows:

Representation in other Chamber

*Prime Ministor	R J L Hawke AC MP	Senator Button
*Special Hinister of State and Minister Assisting the Prime Minister on the Status of Women and the Bicentenary and Minister Assisting the Minister for Community Services & Health	Senator Susan Ryan	Mr Hawke
*Deputy Prime Minister and Attorney-Ceneral and Minister Ascisting the Prime Minister for Commonwealth/ State Relations	Lionel Bowen MP	Senator Tate
**Parliamentary Secretary for Justice	Senator Michael Tate	Mr Bowen
Minister for Consumer Affairs and Minister Assisting the Treasurer for Prices	Peter Staples MP	Senator Tate
*Leader of the Government in the Senate and Minister for Industry, Technology and Commerce	Senator John Button	Mr Jones
Minister for Science & Small Business	B O Jones MP	Senator Button

000298

\*Deputy Leader of the Senator Gareth Evans OC Mr Duncan Government and Manager of Government Business in the Senate, Minister for Transport & Communications Minister for Land Transport & Feter Duncan MP Senator Evans Infrastructure Support P J Roating MP \*Treasurer Senator Walsh \*Minister for Immigration, Michael J Young MP Senator Reynolds Local Government and Ethnic Affairs, Vice-President of the Exocutive Council, Leader of the House and Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for fulticultural Affairs \*\*Parliamentary Secretary Senator Margaret Reynolds Mr Young for Local Government \*Minister for Financo Senator P Walsh Mr Dawkins Minister for Foreign Affairs Bill Hayden MP Senator Evans and Trade Michael Duffy MP Senator Evans Minister for Trade Regotiations, Ministor Assisting the Minister for Industry, Technology & Commerce & Minister Assisting the Minister for Primary Industries & Energy \*Minister for Industrial Relations Ralph Willis MP Senator Button and Minister Assisting the Prime Minister in Public Service Matters \*Minister for Employment, Education J S Dawkins MP Senator Ryan & Training Minister for Employment Services A C Holding MP Senator Ryan & Youth Affairs & Minister Assisting the Treasurer

000299

2.

. · ·

*Minister for Defence	Kim C Beazley MP	Senator Ray
**Parliamentary Secretary for Defence Science and Personnel	Ros Kolly MP	Senator Ray
<pre>Minister for Primery Industries &amp; Energy</pre>	John Kerin MP	Senator Walsh
Minister for Resources	Peter Morris MP	Senator Walsh
*Minister for Social Security	Brian Howe MP	Senator Richardson
*Minister for Acministrative Services	Stewart West MP -	Senator Ray
Minister for Home Affairs & Deputy Manager of Government Business in the Senate	Senator Robert Ray	Mr West
*Minister for the Arts, Sport, the Environment, Tourism & Territories	John Brown MP	Senator Richardson
Minister for the Environment and the Arts	Senator Graham Richardson	Mr Brown
*Minister for Community Services & Health	Neal Blewett MP	Senator Ryan
Minister for Veterans' Affairs	Ben Humphreys MP	Senator Reynolds
Minister for Aboriginal Affairs	Gerry Hand MP	Senator Tate

Denotes Minister in the Cabinet
 Temporary title pending amendment of the Ministers of State Act 1952

000300

1

1

We also elected today the candidates for the Parliamentary officeholders and filled other Caucus positions.

シンドレー

ž

Mrs Joan Child will be put forward as Speaker for the House of Reprosentatives, and Senator Kerry Sibraa for the position of President of the Senate. For the Deputy Speaker and Chairman of Committees, we will be proposing Mr Leo McLeay, and will be nominating Senator Kal Colston for the Deputy President position in the Senate.

Barry Cunningham has been elected Government Whip for the House of Representatives, with Tony Lamb as his Deputy. Senator Gerry Jones will be Government Whip in the Senate, assisted by Senator Graham Maguire and Senator Jim McKiernan as Deputies.

The new Chairperson of Caucus will be Bob Brown with Bob Chynoweth as his Deputy. The Secretary of Caucus will be Ross Free.

The Governor-General has agreed to swear in the new Ministry at Government House on Friday morning.

## 000301

「日本」「日本のようにはなったので、日本の時間ののないである」

and the second second