J. AUSTRALIA

## PRIME MINISTER

FOR MEDIA 9 April 1987

The Government's newly established Advisory Council on Multicultural Affairs is to prepare a National Agenda for a Multicultural Australia. I proposed this to the Council at its inaugural meeting in Canberra today.

The National Agenda will comprise a program of specific priorities that will translate our policy of multiculturalism into a series of concrete initiatives. It will need to be developed on the basis of consultation with a broad range of community interests.

My Government sees multiculturalism as a key social policy which significantly affects all Australians. It is central to the pursuit of social justice. There is a need to ensure that all Australians, regardless of ethnic origins, are able to enjoy equal life chances.

Through the National Agenda, the Council is being asked to assess how far Australia has come in achieving these objectives, and to chart future directions. I envisage that the Agenda will incorporate policies designed to promote equity and access in both the public and private sectors, as well as plans for effective community education.

In determining a National Agenda for a Multicultural Australia, the Council will look at such areas as the law, education, employment, health, media, culture, women's and youth affairs, trade unions and business.

I am confident that the varieties of talents represented in the Council will ensure that it is well placed to provide the Government with the best possible advice.

The 22-member Advisory Council on Multicultural Affairs is charged with providing advice to me and the Minister Assisting, Mr Young, on ways in which the Government might advance its objective of encouraging the further development of our multicultural society. It is chaired by Justice Sir James Gobbo, of the Victorian Supreme Court, and includes Mr George Wojak (Deputy Chairperson), of the Federation of the Ethnic Communities' Councils of Australia; Mr David Brydon, Managing Director of ACI International Ltd; Sir Nicholas Shehadie, Chairman of SBS; and Mr Simon Crean, President of the ACTU. The Advisory Council, the full composition of which is attached, will be supported in developing the National Agenda by the new Office of Multicultural Affairs within the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet.

The National Agenda will look to a multicultural future in which all Australians, irrespective of background, are able to participate fully in national life, in which community resources are fairly available to all, and in which the skills and abilities of all Australians can be harnessed without barriers of discrimination and prejudice.

An action-orientated Agenda will make a major contribution to my Government's commitment to equity. I see multiculturalism as central to enhancing the quality of life for the next generation of Australians.

## ATTACHMENT

## ADVISORY COUNCIL ON MULTICULTURAL AFFAIRS

Justice Sir James Gobbo

(Chairperson)

President, Co As It President, Italian Historical

Society

Mr Wlodzimierz (George) Wojak Chairperson, Federation of

(Deputy Chairperson)

Ethnic Communities' Council

of Australia

Member, National Population Council

Mr David J. Brydon

Managing Director, ACI

International Ltd

Mr Simon Crean

President of the Australian

Council of Trade Unions

Ms Helen Cattalini

Commissioner, Multicultural

and Ethnic Affairs Commission of Western Australia

Dr David Cox

Snr Lecturer, Social Work, University of Melbourne

Chairperson, Settlement and Ethnic Affairs Section, National Population Council

Ms Hanifa Dean-Oswald

Acting Manager, Community Education, Commissioner's Office for Equal Opportunity

in Victoria

Mrs Rena Frangioudakis

Greek radio broadcaster, 3EA

Committee member, Ethnic

Children's Television

Foundation

Miss Eugenia Grammatikakis

Secretary, Ethnic

Communities' Council of

Tasmania

Mrs Margaretha Hanen

Ethnic Consultant, Office of

the Commissioner for the

Ageing SA,

Executive, Ethnic

Communities' Council of SA

Mr Steve Karas

Snr Lecturer, Law, Queensland Institute of Technology Chairperson, Ethnic Communities' Council of Queensland, Member of Review of Migrant and Multicultural Programs and Services, 1986

Ms Morag Loh

Member, Historic Records Search Committee for the Bicentenary Oral historian of immigrants; multilingual theatre work

Miss Lidia De Luca

Snr Vice-Chairperson, Ethnic Communities' Council of the Northern Territory

Mrs Therese Thi Huong Morris Secretary, Vietnamese

Secretary, Vietnamese Community of Newcastle and the Hunter

Mr Nontas Pezaros

Editor, Neos Kosmos

Mr Nino Randazzo

Editor, Il Globo, Victoria

Mr Timothy Ching-Ming Shao

National Director, Australian Council of Churches' Refugee and Migrant Services Executive, Refugee Council

Dr Joachim Schneeweiss

President, Executive Council of Australian Jewry 1977-9, 1981-3
Board member, Australian Jewish Welfare Society

Dr Ahmad Shboul

Snr Lecturer, Arabic and Islamic Studies, University of Sydney Hon. Adviser to the Islamic Federation

Sir Nicholas Shehadie

Chairman, Special Broadcasting Service Ms Maria Vukadinovic-Jockel

Deputy Chairman, Ethnic Affairs Commission of Victoria Hon. Life member, Australian-Yugoslav Welfare Society

Professor Eric Willmot

Head of Education, James Cook University, Head, ACT Schools Authority (Appointment in 1987)