

PRIME MINISTER

FOR MEDIA

16 February 1987

At a meeting of the Federal ALP Caucus this afternoon, Senator Kerry Sibraa was chosen as the Government's candidate for the Presidency of the Senate. This follows the resignation last month of Senator the Hon Douglas McClelland. The Senate is expected to elect its new President tomorrow, 17 February.

I pay tribute to Senator McClelland, an outstanding President whose tenure was marked by good humour, unfailing commonsense and impartiality. He takes with him the respect and good wishes of all political parties.

I announced last Thursday that Senator the Hon Don Grimes had submitted his resignation as Minister for Community Services and at that time I conveyed the Government's appreciation for his great service. I propose to recommend to the Governor-General that the resignation be accepted later today, and at the same time will be recommending minor changes to the Ministry.

The vacancy in the Ministry caused by the resignation of Senator Grimes is, in accordance with Caucus' vote, to be filled by Senator Michael Tate. I have decided to recommend that Senator Tate be appointed as Special Minister of State. The Hon Michael J Young MP, will become Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs and Minister assisting me for multicultural affairs, and the Hon Chris Hurford MP, will be appointed as Minister for Community Services.

As a consequence of Senator Grimes' resignation from the Ministry, the position of Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate also became vacant. The Caucus has today elected Senator the Hon Gareth Evans QC, to that office. Senator Evans will also be Manager of Government Business in the Senate.

COMMONWEALTH GOVERNMENT

SECOND HAWKE MINISTRY

		Representation in other Chamber
*Prime Minister *Deputy Prime Minister, Attorney-General, Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Commonwealth-State Relations and Vice-President of the Executive Council	The Hon.R.J.L. Hawke, AC,MP The Hon. Lionel Bowen, MP	Senator Button Senator Evans
*Leader of the Government in the Senate and Minister for Industry, Technology and Commerce	Senator the Hon. John Button	Mr Jones
*Deputy Leader of the Government and Manager of Government Business in the Senate, Minister for Resources and Energy, Minister Assisting the Prime Minister and Minister Assisting the Foreign Minister	Senator the Hon. Gareth Evans, QC	Mr Jones
*Minister for Employment and Industrial Relations and Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Public Service Industrial Matters	The Hon. Ralph Willis, MP	Senator Walsh
*Treasurer *Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs, Leader of the House and Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Multicultural Affairs	The Hon. P.J. Keating, MP The Hon. Michael J. Young, MP	Senator Walsh Senator Evans
*Minister for Finance and Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Public Service Matters	Senator the Hon. Peter Walsh	Mr Hurford Mr Willis
*Minister for Foreign Affairs *Minister for Education and Minister Assisting the Prime Minister on the Status of Women	The Hon. Bill Hayden, MP Senator the Hon. Susan Ryan	Senator Evans Mr Dawkins
*Minister for Trade and Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Youth Affairs	The Hon. J.S. Dawkins, MP	Senator Button
<pre>*Minister for Primary Industry *Minister for Housing and Construction</pre>	The Hon. John Kerin, MP The Hon. Stewart West, MP	Senator Walsh Senator Ryan
<pre>*Minister for Defence *Minister for Community Services and Minister Assisting the Treasurer</pre>	The Hon. Kim C. Beazley, MP The Hon. Chris Hurford, MP	Senator Evans Senator Tate
*Minister for Social Security Minister for Transport and Minister for Aviation	The Hon. Brian Howe, MP The Hon. Peter Morris, MP	Senator Tate Senator Gietzelt
Minister for Sport, Recreation and Tourism and Minister Assisting the Minister for Defence	The Hon. John Brown, MP	Senator Ryan
Minister for Health	The Hon. Neal Blewett, MP	Senator Tate

Minister for Science and Minister Assisting the Minister for Industry, Technology & Commerce	The Hon. Barry O. Jones, MP	Senator Button
Minister for Territories	The Hon. Gordon Scholes, MP	Senator Gietzelt
Minister for Communications and Minister Assisting the Minister for Defence	The Hon. Michael Duffy, MP	Senator Walsh
Minister for Arts, Essitage and Environment and Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Bicentennial	The Hon. Barry Cohen, MP	Senator Ryan
Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Minister Assisting the Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs	The Hon. A.C. Holding, MP	Senator Ryan
Minister for Veterans' Affairs Minister for Local Government and Administrative Services	Senator the Hon. A.T. Gietzelt The Hon. Tom Uren, MP	Mr Holding Senator Gietzelt
Special Minister of State	Senator Michael Tate	Mr Young

^{*} Minister in the Cabinet

. . . .