EMBARGOED UNTIL 6.00PM



PRIME MINISTER

FOR MEDIA

7 SEPTEMBER 1986

JOINT ANNOUNCEMENT ON THE FORMATION OF THE SINO-AUSTRALIAN JOINT MINISTERIAL ECONOMIC COMMISSION

The following is an announcement by the Governments of Australia and China, following discussions between the Australian Prime Minister, Mr Hawke, and the Chinese Vice Premier, Mr Wan Li, on 7 September 1986.

In order to promote the development of economic cooperation between China and Australia, it has been agreed to establish the Sino-Australian Ministerial Joint Economic Commission. The Chinese side will be chaired by Mr Lu Dong, Minister of the State Economic Commission and the Australian side by Senator Button, Leader of the Government in the Senate.

The Joint Commission will mainly discuss and coordinate matters concerning the trade and economic cooperation and related scientific, technical and educational exchanges between the two countries in so far as these relate to economic and technical cooperation. The Commission will study and carry forward issues that arise from our economic relationship and explore new ways of developing trade and economic cooperation.

The Joint Commission will meet once a year alternately in the capital of each country.

In addition, the Prime Minister provided further information on how the Joint Commission would operate.

The Honourable John Dawkins, Minister for Trade, will be the alternate Chairman on the Australian side. The Honourable Bill Hayden, Minister for Foreign Affairs, will also be a permanent member of the Commission on the Australian side. Other Australian Ministers will participate in the work of the Commission from time to time, as appropriate to the issues under discussion.

The Commission will provide a mechanism for Australian and Chinese Ministers to discuss and coordinate matters relating to the overall development of the Australia/China economic relationship. This will provide an umbrella for the many industry initiatives that are in place and which have already contributed to the devlopment of the strong relationship between China and Australia.

The Secretariat for the Australian side of the Commission will be established within the Department of Trade to coordinate the provision of advice to Ministers on all matters before the Commission. The Secretariat will be headed by Ambassador Paul Barratt, Special Trade Representative for North Asia.