

PRIME MINISTER

FOR MEDIA

18 MARCH 1986

Three new members will be appointed to the Australian Science and Technology Council (ASTEC) together with re-appointment of two members whose initial terms of service have ended.

Professor G A Rigby and Mr L S Zampatti have been recommended for re-appointment to a further three year term as members of ASTEC and Professor D A Aitkin, Dr R G Gregory and Mr R A Wheeldon have been recommended for appointment as new members of ASTEC.

Professor Rigby is Professor of Electrical Engineering at the University of New South Wales and is Director of its Joint Microelectronics Research Centre.

Mr Zampatti is the managing director of Brett and Co (Pty) Limited and associated companies, and is a director of the Australian Bank Limited.

Professor D A Aitkin is Professor of Political Science in the Institute of Advanced Studies at the Australian National University.

Dr R G Gregory is a Professorial Research Fellow at the Research School of Social Sciences, Australian National University.

Mr R A Wheeldon is the joint managing director of BWD Industries Limited and of the BWD (Australia) group of companies, manufacturers of scientific, meteorological and laboratory instruments.

The Government appreciates the commitment the new Council members would make in serving ASTEC, which would inevitably divert their energies from their high accomplishments in their respective fields.

The Government also pays tribute to the important contributions to the work of ASTEC made by three members whose terms of service had been completed.

These are Mr P M Trainor, Mr J N Davenport, and Professor J W Nevile.