

PRIME MINISTER

FOR MEDIA

13 July 1983

The Prime Minister today announced the appointment of members of the new Economic Planning Advisory Council.

EPAC has been set up to continue the process of consultation and information exchange started at the National Economic Summit Conference.

Through EPAC, the Government will have available to it, on a continuing basis, independent advice from State Governments, the business sector, unions and community groups on the broad conduct of economic policy, particularly in a medium and longer term context.

The first meeting of the Council will be held in Canberra on 25 July 1983.

This will enable the Government to consult the Council and have the benefit of its views during the course of the Budget's formulation.

EPAC's views will supplement the already extensive consultation which the Government has engaged in about the conduct of policy both during the Summit and subsequently.

The Council will have 17 members, including three Federal Government Ministers and three State Government representatives.

The States will be represented on the inaugural Council by the Premiers of New South Wales, South Australia and Tasmania.

The Federal Government will be represented by myself, the Treasurer and the Minister for Employment and Industrial Relations.

Under the Act establishing EPAC, the State Government members are to hold office for a period of up to two years.

The Government's intention is that one of the three State seats will rotate between NSW and Victoria while the other two seats will be shared among the remaining States and the Northern Territory so that, over time, each of those five will get equal representation.

The non-Government members were selected after consultation with relevant industry and community organisations. These members, who have a four year term, are:-

Mr A.W. Coates General Manager and Director, AMP Society

Mr B.N. Kelman Director and General Manager, CSR Ltd

Mr D.N. Hughes Chief Executive Cadbury Schweppes Australia Ltd and President, Confederation of Australian Industry

Mr F.M. Davidson President, National Farmers' Federation

Mr C.O. Dolan President, ACTU

Mr. W.J. Kelty Secretary, ACTU

Mr C.H. Fitzgibbon Senior Vice-President, ACTU

Ms J. Marsh ACTU Advocate

Ms L.F. Cutts
Director, Australian Council of Local Government
Associations

Mr C.K. Menzies Secretary-General ACOSS

Dr J.B. Braithwaite Director, Australian Federation of Consumer Organisations

In addition to drawing on its own resources, the Council will consult widely with Federal and State bodies and with commercial, industrial, consumer, welfare and other organisations.

It will also have power to engage consultants and to form committees and working parties to investigate matters on its behalf.

The membership of such working parties will not be restricted to Council members and I expect the Council to seek the assistance and involvement of others whenever this is appropriate.

The Government appreciates community interest in EPAC's future work and the contribution which will be made by the members of the inaugural Council.

The Council will play a significant role in national economic policy formulation.