

ACTING

PRIME MINISTER

FOR MEDIA

17 June 1983

The Acting Prime Minister announced today the appointment of five new members to the Australian Science and Technology Council, together with the re-appointment of two members whose initial term of service had been completed.

Mr Bowen said that the new members appointed to the Council were: Professor P.I. Korner, Director of the Baker Medical Research Institute; Professor J.W. Nevile, Professor of Electrical Engineering at the University of New South Wales; Professor G.A. Rigby, Professor of Electrical Engineering at the University of New South Wales; Mr P.M. Trainor, Chairman and Chief Executive of Nucleus Ltd; and Mr L.S. Zampatti, Managing Director of Castlemaine Tooheys Ltd.

The two members re-appointed for further terms were Mr J.N. Davenport Company Director and Mr K. McLeod, Federal Secretary of the Australian Insurance Employees Union.

Mr Bowen said that these appointments brought the membership of ASTEC to its full strength of fifteen. He said that the Government looked forward to ASTEC continuing to play an important role in providing independent advice on science and technology matters.

In announcing the changes in the membership of ASTEC, Mr Bowen paid tribute to the important contributions to the work of the Council made by three former members whose terms of service had been completed. These were: Dr L.W. Davies, Sir Gustav Nossal; and Sir John Wilson. Professor M.G. Pitman, who had recently been appointed as Director of the CSIRO Institute of Biological Resources, had resigned his membership of the Council. Mr Bowen expressed his appreciation for Professor Pitman's valuable involvement in the Council's work. Jack Napier Davenport, D.S.O., D.F.C. Born 1920, now resident in Sydney Director, Reserve Bank of Australia Director, Dalgety (Australia) Ltd Director, MiM Holdings Ltd (group) Director, Australian Gas Light Company (group) Director, QANTAS Airways Ltd Chairman, Australian Aircraft Consortium Pty Ltd Director, William Adams Ltd Councillor, Australian War Memorial

Professor Paul Ivan Korner, FAA

Born 1925, now resident in Melbourne Professor of Medicine, Monash University since 1975 Director, Baker Medical Research Institute and Clinical Research Unit, Alfred Hospital

Ken McLeod

Born 1924, now resident in Melbourne Federal Secretary of the Australian Insurance Employees' Union for the past 18 years Chairman of the ACTU Committee on Technology Member of the Insurance Consultative Committee of the Treasury Member of the frade Union Training Authority Past member of the Export Finance Insurance Corporation

Professor John Warwick Nevile, FASSA Born 1932, new resident in Sydney Professor of Economics, University of New South Wales since 1965 President of the Economics Society of Australia Member of the Australian Research Grants Committee, 1973-77

Professor Graham Austin Rigby, FTS

Born 1940, now resident in Sydney Professor of Electrical Engineering, University of New South Wales since 1982 Member of the Australian Research Grants Committee, 1978-81 Vice-President, Institute of Radio and Electronic Engineers (currently) Member, standing committee on training for advanced technology, National Training Council Director, Joint Microelectronics Research Centre

Paul Murry Trainor Born 1927, now resident in Sydney Chairman and chief executive, Nucleus Ltd Member, Australian Industrial Research and Development Incentives Board Member, National Health Technology Advisory Panel

Lloyd Spencer Zampatti Born 1929, now resident in Brisbane Managing Director, Castlemaine Tooheys Limited Director, Australia Bank Limited Treasurer, World Wildlife Fund Australia Member, Business Round Table