

## PRIME MINISTER

FOR MEDIA

3.

WEDNESDAY, 5 MAY 1982

## MINISTERIAL COMMITTEE ON THE A.C.T.

Following a request by the Liberal Party Senator for the A.C.T., Senator Margaret Reid, the Government has decided to establish a new Cabinet Committee on Australian Capital Territory matters.

The decision follows discussions which took place between the Minister for the Capital Territory, the Hon. Michael Hodgman, MP, and Senator Reid.

The Committee will comprise the Minister for Education (Chair), the Attorney-General, and the Ministers for Administrative Services, Health, the Capital Territory, Veteran's Affairs, and Home Affairs and Environment.

The Federal Government stands in a special relationship to the A.C.T. community as there is no State or traditional local government body in the Territory.

The Government recognised that there was a need for careful consideration to be given in the process of Government decision making to aspects which could adversely affect the Territory. It was recognised that some decisions taken on a national basis had indirectly caused problems for the local community.

The Committee will be a continuing Committee for the purpose of considering A.C.T. matters and will provide a valuable source of advice to the Government as well as monitoring Government decisions on the A.C.T.