

PRIME MINISTER

FOR MEDIA

TUESDAY 10 FEBRUARY 1981

IRON TRIANGLE STUDY

The Prime Minister, Mr. Malcolm Fraser and the Premier of South Australia, Mr. David Tonkin, today announced the terms of reference for the Commonwealth/State Iron Triangle Study, the establishment of which they had jointly announced on 11 October 1980.

The Prime Minister and the Premier recalled that their respective Governments had each approved an arrangement to share equally the anticipated cost of \$500,000.

The terms of reference agreed by the two Governments are:

That the Iron Triangle Study Group investigate and recommend by 31st December 1981 the most appropriate long term strategies for development in the central part of South Australia. This region, while known in part as the Iron Triangle, includes relevant areas related to the three major urban centres of Port Augusta, Port Pirie and Whyalla. The Study Group is required to -

- 1. Survey the region and its current state of development;
- 2. Review existing relevant investigations and studies;
- Identify known and likely significant developments in the region;
- 4. Assess the impact and implications for the region of such significant developments;
- 5. Identify the aims and aspirations of communities in the region;
- 6. Identify and assess the environmental considerations relevant to the region;
- 7. Present to Governments long term options for economic and social development in the region;
- 8. For each option, identify the infrastructure needs for the region;
- 9. For each option, indicate actions which may be undertaken by Governments to encourage and enhance economic and social development within the region;

10. Investigate and report on any other relevant aspect as may be agreed between the South Australian and Commonwealth Governments.

It was also announced that Dr. Brian Hickman had been appointed as Executive Director of the Study. Dr. Hickman will be responsible for the detailed research and planning involved in the Study.

Membership of the Study Group is as follows -

Mr. M.P. Tiddy (Convenor)

Mr. I.J. Kowalick

Mr. G.R. Inglis

Dr. M. Messenger

Mr. Ray McHenry

Dr. D.J. Ives

Mr. K.G. Purcell

Mr. W.I.C. Howard

Mr. W. Jones

Mrs. A. Ekblom

Mr. R.E. Trehearne

Mr. M.G. Perry

Mr. J.F. Watson

Premier's Department

S.A. Department of Trade and Industry

S.A. Department of Environment

S.A. Department of Mines and Energy

Co-ordinator General Department of the Chief Minister of the N.T.

Commonwealth Department:
of National Development:
and Energy

Commonwealth Department of Industry and Commerce

Mayor Corporation of Port Augusta Mayor Corporation of Port Pirie

Mayor Whyalla Council

Vice President S.A. Chamber of Mines

President Chamber of Commerce and Industry S.A. Inc.

Secretary
Port Pirie-Whyalla Branch
Federated Ironworkers' Assoc.
of Australia

Dr. B.S. Hickman

(Executive Director)

The Prime Minister and the Premier reiterated their conviction that the joint study was a very significant step towards a co-ordinated and planned approach to the development of South Australia's immense mineral and energy resources which have tremendous potential to contribute to the growth of the State and the Nation.