JOINT MEDIA RELEASE BY THE COMMONWEALTH MINISTER ASSISTING THE PRIME MINISTER IN FEDERAL AFFAIRS, THE HON. WAL. FIFE, MP, AND THE VICTORIAN MINISTER FOR LOCAL GOVERNMENT, THE HON.

DIGBY CROZIER, MP

FINANCIAL BOOST FOR LOCAL GOVERNMENT IN 1979/80

More than \$56.4 million of Commonwealth funds will be distributed to Victorian muncipalities this financial year in accordance with the recommendations of the Victoria Grants Commission (details attached).

The amount allocated to the State of Victoria represents an increase of 23.6% over the total available last year.

This is a result of the recent decision by the Commonwealth to increase its share of personal income tax payable to local government authorities from 1.52% to 1.75%.

Further good news is that the Federal Treasurer has re-iterated that the Commonwealth will increase its share of personal income tax revenue to local government to 2% by the time of the next Budget representing another substantial financial gain for municipalities throughout the State.

Under the Victoria Grants Commission Act 1976, each municipality is entitled to a minimum grant "as of right" which takes into account its population and its area.

In determining the final grants, the Commission has considered the special needs and disabilities of each municipality, the effort which it has made to function effectively and provide reasonable services, and has also taken into account special factors affecting individual municipalities in the 1977/78 financial year In making the assessment the Victoria Grants Commission has followed established equalisation principles.

"Since its inception in May 1977 the Commission has visited every municipality in the State in order to obtain first hand knowledge of the circumstances of local government" the Ministers said.

They emphasised that the grants were completely untied and free of any strings whatsoever and that the way in which grants were utilised would be a matter for each municipality to determine.

"This approach is in line with the policy of the two Governments to upgrade the status and independence of local government", they said.

VICTORIA GRANTS COMMISSION

DETERMINATION OF ALLOCATIONS OF GENERAL REVENUE GRANTS TO MUNICIPAL COUNCILS IN VICTORIA - 1979-80 FINANCIAL YEAR

Municipality	\$	Municipality	\$
Alberton (S)	260,000	Doncaster & Templestowe (C)	710,000
Alexandra (S)	152,000	Dundas (S)	137,000
Altona (C)	380,000	Dunmunkle (S)	134,000
Arapiles (S)	60,000	Eaglehawk (B)	151,000
Ararat (C)	230,000	East Loddon (S)	107,000
Ararat (S)	225,000	Echuca (C)	196,000
Avoca (S)	111,000	Eltham (S)	410,000
Avon (S)	131,000	Essendon (C)	542,000
Bacchus Marsh (S)	128,000	Euroa (S) Fitzroy (C)	119,000
Bairnsdale (T)	244,000	Flinders (S)	385,000
Bairnsdale (S)	165,000	Footscray (C)	265,000 820,000
Ballaarat (C) Ballan (S)	666,000 62,000	Frankston (C)	720,000
Ballarat (S)	400,000	Geelong (C)	273,000
Bannockburn (S)	67,000	Geelong West (C)	189,000
Barrabool (S)	69,000	Gisborne (S)	105,000
Bass (S)	133,000	Glenelg (Š)	190,000
Beechworth (S)	155,000	Gordon (S)	141,000
Belfast (S)	88,000	Goulburn (S)	68,000
Bellarinė (S)	430,000	Grenville (S)	103,000
Benalla (C)	196,000	Hamilton (C)	240,000
Benalla (S)	56,000	Hampden (S)	215,000
Bendigo (C)	610,000	Hastings (S)	112,000
Berwick (C)	448,000	Hawthorn (C)	208,000
Bet Bet (S)	82,000	Healesville (S)	208,000
Birchip (S)	75,000	Heidelberg (C) Heytesbury (S)	670,000
Box Hill (C)	410,000	Horsham (C)	340,000
Bright (S) Brighton (C)	185,000	Huntly (S)	312,000
Broadford (S)	230,000	Kaniva (S)	80,000 114,000
Broadmeadows (C)	55,000 1,280,000	Kara Kara (S)	42,000
Brunswick (C)	515,000	Karkarooc (S)	217,000
Bulla (S)	220,000	Keilor (C)	968,000
Buln Buln (S)	255,000	Kerang (B)	104,000
Bungaree (S)	98,000	Kerang (S)	216,000
Buninyong (S)	206,000	Kew (C)	195,000
Camberwell (C)	555,000	Kilmore (S)	90,000
Camperdown (T)	93,000	Knox (C)	835,000
Castlemaine (C)	236,000	Koroit (B)	38,000
Caulfield (C)	503,000	Korong (S)	178,000
Charlton (S) •	65,000	Korumburra (S) Kowree (S)	250,000
Chelsea (C)	415,000	Kyabram (T)	153,000
Chiltern (S)	41,000	Kyneton (S)	133,000
Cobram (S) Coburg (C)	212,000	Leigh (S)	183,000
Cohuna (S)	650,000 148,000	Lexton (S)	61,000 35,000
Colac (C)	203,000	Lillydale (S)	615,000
Colac (S)	214,000	Lowan (S)	121,000
Collingwood (C)	300,000	McIvor (S)	61,000
Corio (S)	620,000	Maffra (S)	248,000
Cranbourne (S)	350,000	Maldon (S)	70,000
Creswick (S)	116,000	Malvern (C)	305,000
Croydon (C)	455,000	Mansfield (S)	176,000
Dandenong (C)	620,000	Maryborough (C)	200,000
Daylesford & Glenlyon (S)	165,000	Maryborough (C)	195,000
Deakin (S)	314,000	Melbourne (C) Melton (S)	1,012,000
Diamond Valley (S)	605,000	Metcalfe (S)	265,000
Dimboola (S) Donald (S)	180,000	Mildura (C)	60,000
Donara (3)	86,000		332,000

Municipality	\$	Municipality	\$
Mildura (S)	480,000	Shepparton (C)	406,000
Minhamite (S)	127,000	Shepparton (S)	276,000
Mirboo (S)	69,000	Sherbrooke (S)	470,000
Moe (C)	381,000	South Barwon (C)	450,000
Moorabbin (C)	545,000	South Gippsland (S)	192,000
Mordialloc (C)	255,000	South Melbourne (C)	202,000
Mornington (S)	190,000	Springvale (C)	675,000
Mortlake (S)	110,000	Stawell (T)	1 81,000
Morwell (S)	565,000	Stawell (S)	115,000
Mount Rouse (S)	68,000	Strathfieldsaye (S)	178,000
Myrtleford (S)	148,000	Sunshine (C)	1,185,000
Narracan (S)	292,000	Swan Hill (C)	191,000
Nathalia (S)	146,000	Swan Hill (S)	418,000
Newham & Woodend (S)	82,000	Talbot & Clunes (S)	78,000
News tead (S)	55,000	Tallangatta (S)	195,000
Newtown (C)	112,000	Tambo (S)	258,000
Northcote (C)	678,000	Traralgon (C)	387,000
Numurkah (S)	233,000	Traralgon (S)	25,000
Nunawading (C)	655,000	Tullaroop (S)	50,000
Oakleigh (C)	512,000	Tungamah (S)	128,000
Omeo (S)	137,000	Upper Murray (S)	133,000
Orbost (S)	263,000	Upper Yarra (S)	170,000
Otway (S)	239,000	Violet Town (\$)	48,000
Oxley (S)	173,000	Walpeup (S)	184,000
Pakenham (S)	300,000	Wangaratta (C)	362,000
Phillip Island (S)	130,000	Wangaratta (S)	53,000
	71,000	Wannon (S)	162,000
Port Fairy (B) Portland (T)	245,000	Warranga (S)	230,000
Portland (S)	258,000	Warracknabeal (S)	99,000
		Warragul (S)	185,000
Port Melbourne (C)	136,000		462,000
Prahran (C)	400,000	Warrnambool (C)	235,000
Preston (C)	732,000	Warrnambool (S)	765,000
Pyalong (S)	17,000	Waverley (C) Werribee (S)	595,000
Queenscliffe (B)	56,000 275,000		520,000
Richmond (C)		Whittlesea (S)	475 000
Ringwood (C)	360,000	Williamstown (C)	475,000
Ripon (S)	102,000	Wimmera (S)	140,000
Rochester (S)	325,000	Winchelsea (S)	156,000
Rodney (S).	355,540	Wodonga (C)	405,000
Romsey (S)	82,000	Wonthaggi (B)	160,000
Rosedale (S)	111,000	Woorayl (S)	284,000
Rutherglen (S)	93,000	Wycheproof (S)	226,000
St. Arnaud (T)	96,000	Yackandandah (S)	110,000
St. Kilda (C)	485,000	Yarrawonga (S)	132,000
Sale (C)	351,000	Yea (S)	93,000
Sandringham (C)	253,000		
Sebas topol (B)	154,000	T . ()	¢55 435 540
Seymour (S)	244,000	Total	\$56,435,540

D. V. Moye, Chajrman

F. S. Bales, Member

S. L. Cooper, Member