

## PRIME MINISTER

FOR PRESS

5 DECEMBER 1978

## ACTING PERMANENT HEADS

The Prime Minister, Mr Fraser, announced today that Mr M.B. Keogh and Mr B.J. Tregillis had been appointed as Acting Secretaries of the newly created Departments of Industrial Relations, and Employment and Youth Affairs, respectively. Action to fill the positions on a permament basis was proceeding in accordance with the procedures laid down under the Public Service Act.

The Permanent Heads of the renamed Departments of Housing and Construction and Science and the Environment are Mr G. Warwick Smith and Dr J.L. Farrands.

The position of the Permanent Heads of the two abolished Departments, Mr K.C. McKenzie, formerly Secretary of the Department of Employment and Industrial Relations, and Mr R.B. Lansdown, formerly Secretary of the Department of Environment, Housing and Community Development, was under consideration.

---000----

F78/254