

PRIME MINISTER

FOR PRESS

26 JULY 1978

APPOINTMENT OF SECRETARY
TO THE DEPARTMENT OF THE TREASURY

The Prime Minister, Mr. Malcolm Fraser, today announced that Mr. John Owen Stone is to be the next Secretary to the Department of the Treasury when Sir Frederick Wheeler retires on 8 January, 1979.

The Government has seen advantage in a handover period and in an early resolution of the matter of succession.

Mr. Stone, who has been Deputy Secretary of the Treasury since 1971, has first-class honours degrees in Science from the University of Western Australia and in Arts from the University of Oxford. Aged 49 years, he joined the Treasury in 1954. He was the Australian Treasury Representative in London 1958-1961 and an Executive Director of the International Monetary Fund and the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development in Washington from 1967 to 1970.