

## PRIME MINISTER

FOR PRESS

17 JANUARY 1978

## STANDING COMMITTEES OF CABINET

The Prime Minister today announced changes to the structure of the Standing Committees of Cabinet. In addition to the Social Welfare Policy Committee, the establishment of which was announced in the Prime Minister's statement of 19 December 1977, Committees on Monetary Policy and Wages Policy have been established as Standing Committees.

The full list of Committees is:-

<u>Planning and Co-ordination Committee:</u> to facilitate the co-ordination of the Government's medium and long term activities.

Members: Mr Fraser (Chairman)

Sen. Withers

Mr Anthony

Mr Street

Mr Lynch

Mr Nixon

Mr Sinclair

Mr Howard

Sen. Carrick

Foreign Affairs and Defence Committee: to consider matters concerned with international relations and defence.

Memhers

Mr Fraser (Chairman)

Mr Howard

Mr Anthony

Mr Peacock

Mr Lynch

Mr Killen

Mr Sinclair

Mr MacKellar

Sen. Withers

Intelligence and Security Committee: to exercise policy control and managerial oversight in respect of internal and external intelligence and security matters.

Members:

Mr Fraser(Chairman)

Mr Peacock

Mr Anthony

Mr Killen

Mr Sinclair

Mr Robinson

Sen. Withers

Sen. Durack

Machinery of Government Committee: to deal with organisational and administrative matters concerned with the activities of the Government.

Members: Mr Fraser (Chairman)

Mr Robinson

Mr Lynch

Mr Viner

Mr Nixon

Mr Staley

Sen. Carrick

Sen. Durack

Sen. Guilfoyle

Monetary Policy Committee: to deal with matters relating to interest rates, banking policy and currency exchange rates.

Members: Mr Fraser (Chairman)

Sen. Withers

Mr Anthony

Mr Howard

Mr Lynch

Mr Robinson

Mr Sinclair

Wages Policy Committee: to deal with National Wage Case and other industrial relations and conciliation and arbitration issues.

Members: Mr Lynch (Chairman)

Mr Peacock

Mr Sinclair

Mr Viner

Mr Street

Sen. Durack

Mr Ellicott

Mr Nixon

Mr Howard

Mr Groom

Government Purchasing Committee: to oversight Government purchasing policy in relation to purchases by Departments and authorities and to scrutinise proposals to purchase imported goods in preference to Australian-made goods.

Members: Mr Lynch (Chairman)

Mr Robinson

Sen. Withers

Mr McLeay

Mr Street

Mr Macphee

Mr Nixon

Mr Fife

Social Welfare Policy Committee: to oversight and consider policies and programs in the health and welfare field.

Members: Mr Lynch (Chairman) Mr Hunt

Sen. Carrick Mr MacKellar
Sen. Guilfoyle Sen. Durack
Mr Robinson Mr Ellicott

Mr Viner Mr Groom

General Administrative Committee: to deal with matters not involving new major policy initiatives or of significant economic or financial consequences.

Members: Mr Lynch (Chairman) Mr Newman

Mr Street Sen. Webster
Mr Nixon Mr Staley

Mr Howard Sen. Durack
Sen. Carrick Mr Macphee
Mr Robinson Mr Fife

Mr Hunt Mr Garland
Mr MacKellar Mr Ellicott

Mr Adermann Mr Groom

Mr McLeay

<u>Legislation Committee</u>: to examine all Bills before they are presented to Parliament and to determine the Parliamentary Program.

Members: Mr Sinclair (Chairman) Sen. Durack

Sen. Withers Mr Macphee
Mr Nixon Mr Garland
Mr Peacock Mr Ellicott
Mr Viner Mr Groom

Sen. Webster

The Prime Minister said that these changes were based on experience of the last two years and would facilitate consideration of matters coming before the Government.

Ad Hoc Committees would continue to be established from time to time to deal with particular issues that might arise but for which there is not a continuing involvement for Ministers.

The system whereby certain Cabinet Committees are supported by Committees of Permanent Heads is being continued.