

PRIME MINISTER

FOR PRESS

19 AUGUST 1977

SENIOR GOVERNMENT APPOINTMENTS

The Prime Minister today announced that the Governor General in Council had approved the appointment of two Permanent Heads in the Australian Public Service.

Mr. L. J. Daniels, O.B.E., at present Director-General,
Department of Social Security, has been appointed as Secretary,
Department of the Capital Territory. Mr. Daniels succeeds
Mr. L. W. B. Engledow who was recently appointed as Secretary,
Department of Immigration and Ethnic Affairs.

Mr. Daniels will be succeeded by Mr. P. J. Lanigan, O.B.E., currently Second Commissioner of Taxation.

Mr. Fraser recalled that when foreshadowing changes to Permanent Head appointment procedures in 1975, he had expressed the belief that Permanent Heads should be moved from time to time to open up new challenges for them.

The Prime Minister also said that Mr. D. L. Linehan has been appointed as Director of the Industrial Relations Bureau. Mr. Linehan is currently a Commissioner of the Public Service Board. He is to take up his new appointment on 3 October.

Mr. R. J. Young, at present Deputy Commissioner of the Public Service Board, has been appointed in succession to Mr. Linehan.