NA LIGHAL FHERGY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Statement by the Rt. Hon. J.D. Anthony, M.P., Deputy Prime Minister, Minister for National Resources, and Minister for Overseas Trade

A high-level committee has been established to advise the Government on energy matters and assist in the formulation and development of a national energy policy for Australia.

The establishment of the Committee, to be known as the National Energy Advisory Committee, was foreshadowed in the minerals and energy policy statement of the coalition parties at the time of the last election.

I will be looking to the Committee for advice on Australia's energy reserves and on factors likely to influence the pattern of energy supply and demand, and future costs, in Australia; the assessment of and development of our energy resources, and the economy of use of energy.

The Committee also will offer advice on the balance of resources for research relating to the development of energy sources in Australia, and on developments both here and overseas in respect of methods and technology associated with the production and distribution of energy.

The development of a national energy policy is a matter for detailed and expert analysis.

We must consider the present and potential contributions of each energy source, and relate these to the expected requirements of the various sectors of industry and of the private consumer.

We must foresee, as best we can, the technical, economic and social changes which can have an impact on patterns of energy production and consumption.

This is a task which the Government panner, and will not, undertake in isolation.

The Chairman of the Committee is Dr Howard Worner, of Melbourne, who is also the Chairman of the Victorian Brown Coal Protects and Development Committee.

Dr Worner is an eminent scientist who has had a long that distinguished career in Australian industry.

I am sure that under his leadership the Committee, which it am outstanding group of people, will make an invaluable contribution in this important area of Government policy.

The Committee itself will consist of eighteen members who have been selected with a view to covering a wide spectrum of expertise in the energy field, and appointed on the basis of the personal contribution which they can make to the work of the Committee, as distinct from any representational role they might perform.

I will look to the Committee to assess and recommend on major matters of energy policy that will come before me in the future.

In performing this role, I will expect the Committee to act as a link between the Federal Government and all bodies working in the energy field - State Government departments and authorities, private companies, university research workers, learned societies and the like.

As well as assisting the Government through its advice on energy matters, I am sure the Committee will play a valuable role in stimulating public awareness and debate on energy issues, including the need for energy conservation.

In this way, investment decisions by industry and Government authorities, both State and Commonwealth, can be based on better information; consumers, both large and small, will be better able to plan for the future, and Australia will be able to make better use if its energy resources.

Because the establishment of the Committee represents a new undertaking, I have appointed it as an interim Committee in the first instance, to operate until the end of calendar year 1977.

I will ask the Committee to report to me by the end of the year on any modifications it feels should be made to the terms of reference or mode of operation of its successor Committee, which will operate from the beginning of 1978.

A full list of the Committee, and its terms of reference, are attached to this statement.

10th February 1977

NATIONAL ENERGY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

TERMS OF REFERENCE

The function of the National Energy Advisory Committee is to advise the Minister for National Resources on matters relating to energy including -

- (a) Australia's energy reserves;
- (b) factors likely to influence
 - (i) the pattern of energy supply and demand in Australia
 - (ii) the future costs of energy in Australia
 - (iii) the assessment and development of Australia's energy resources
 - (iv) the economy of use of energy in Australia;
- (c) the balance of resources for research relating to the development of theory sources in Australia;
- (d) developments in Australia and overseas in respect of methods and technology associated with the production and distribution of energy.

MATICUAL EVERGY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Chairman

Dr Howard K. Worner, D.Sc., F.A.A., F.T.S., F.Inst.F., F.R.A.C.I., F.I.M., F.I.M.M., M.A.I.M.M.

Members

Mr P.H. Barratt, B.A., B.Sc., First Assistant Secretary, Energy Policy Division, Department of National Resources, (Executive Member).

Mr M.D. Bridgland, B.Sc., F.R.A.C.I., F.A.I.M., Executive Director, ICI Australia Ltd.

Emeritus Professor F.B. Bull, M.A., B.Sc., F.I.E.Aust., Deputy Chairman, Australian Universities Commission.

Professor L.A. Endersbee, B.C.E., M.E., F.I.E.Aust., M.A.I.M.M., F.ASCE, Dean of the Faculty of Engineering, Monash University.

Mrs M.M. Fitz-Gerald, Member, Metric Conversion Board

and

Alderman, St Peter's Council, South Australia.

Professor D.W. George, B.Sc., B.E., Ph.D., F.I.E.E., F.I.Mech.E., F.I.E.Aust., F.A.I.P., Vice-Chancellor, University of Newcastle

and

Chairman, Australian Atomic Energy Commission.

Professor Stuart Harris, B.Ec., Ph.I.. Professor of Resource Economics, Australian Mational University. Mr J.B. Kirkwood, A.S.T.C., M.I.E.Aust., Commissioner, Chairman and Chief Executive, State Energy Commission, Western Australia.

Mr W.M. Lonie, Dip. Applied Chem., A.S.M.B., M.A.I.M.M., M.A.I.M.E., General Manager, Minerals Production and Marketing, BHP Company Ltd.

Mr G. Lynch, A.S.T.C., M.A.I.P., M.A.I.D., Former Director, Esso Australia Ltd.

Mr E.D. Murray, M.C., B.E., F.I.E.Aust., F.I.E.E., F.A.I.M., Commissioner for Electricity Supply, State Electricity Commission of Queensland.

Professor D.J. Nicklin, B.Sc.App., B.Sc., B.Econ., Ph.D., F.I.Chem.E., F.I.E.Aust., Professor of Chemical Engineering, University of Queensland.

Mr J.D. Norgard, B.E., F.S.A.S.M.(Met)., Chairman, The Pipeline Authority.

Professor J.W. Roderick, M.A., M.Sc., Ph.D., F.I.Struct.E., F.I.C.E., A.F.R.Ae.S., F.I.E.Aust., F.ASCE, F.A.A., Challis Professor, Head, School of Civil Engineering, University of Sydney.

Mr H.J. Souter, Secretary, Australian Council of Trade Unions.

Professor C.N. Watson-Munro, O.B.E., D.Sc., F.A.A., F.A.I.P., A.M.I.E.E., F.Inst.P., Wills Professor of Plasma Physics. University of Sydney.

Emeritus Professor Hill W. Worner, D.Sc., F.I.M., F.I.E.Aust. F.R.A.C.I., M.A.I.M.M., Member of the Executive, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation.