29 A

Acting PRIME MINISTER

CANBERRA

## SCIENCE COUNCIL

## MEMBERSHIP

The Acting Prime Minister announced today membership of the reconstituted Interim Australian Science and Technology Council (ASTEC). Membership is as follows:-

Sir Louis Matheson, KBE, CMG, (Chairman) Formerly Vice-Chancellor of Monash University.

Professor G.M. Badger, FAA, Vice-Chancellor, University of Adelaide and President, Australian Academy of Science.

Dr. L.W. Davies, FAA, FTS, Chief Scientist, Amalgamated Wireless (Australia) Ltd. and Professor of Electrical Engineering, University of New South Wales.

Mr. A.W. Hamer, Managing Director, I.C.I. (Australia) Ltd.

Mr. A.H. Parbo, Managing Director, Western Mining Corporation Ltd.

Professor J.A. Passmore, FAHA, FASSA, FBA, Professor of Philosophy, Institute of Advanced Studies, Australian National University.

Sir Rutherford Robertson, CMG, FAA, FRS, Director, Research School of Biological Sciences, Australian National University.

Professor E.G. Saint, FRACP, FACP, Dean, Faculty of Medicine, University of Queensland.

Professor R.O. Slatyer, FAA, FRS, Professor of Biology and Head Department of Environmental Biology, Australian National University.

Mr. K.C. Stone, Secretary, Victoria Trades Hall Council, and Victorian Representative, A.C.T.U.

Professor R. Street, FAA, Director, Research School of Physical Sciences, Australian National University. Sir Colin Syme, Formerly Chairman of Broken Hill Proprietary Co. Ltd.

Mr. W.J. Vines, CMG, Chairman and Managing Director, Dalgety Australia Ltd.

Mr. J.G. Wilson, CBE, Managing Director, Australian Paper Maufacturers Ltd.

Professor Saint is an alternate for Professor G.J.V. Nossal, CBE, FAA, Director of the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, who is overseas for twelve months.

The reconstituted Council had its inaugural meeting on 9 June. Its next meeting will be on 1 July.

Further information can be obtained from the Secretary, Mr. H.C. Crozier on Canberra 73 3911.

22 June 1976