EMBARGO: 8 p.m. SUNDAY





## PRIME MINISTER

FOR PRESS

13 JUNE 1976

## THE AUSTRALIA-JAPAN FOUNDATION

As announced on 30 January, 1976, the Government undertook to proceed during the Autumn Session of Parliament, with legislation to establish the Australia-Japan Foundation. This Bill to create the Foundation passed the House of Representatives on 16 March 1976, the Senate on 6 April 1976, and received Assent on 7 April 1976.

The objectives of the Foundation are to deepen and widen contacts between Australia and Japan in all fields, including business, academic, cultural, scientific and trade unions. The Foundation will promote the study by Australians and Japanese of the language, culture, social, economic and political institutions of one another's country. It will enrich Australian-Japanese relations, both by the understanding that knowledge can bring, and no less importantly, by the personal contacts between Australians and Japanese that the Foundation's work will make possible.

Those to receive grants from the Foundation will be competent persons who are already making a marked contribution to their own sphere of activity, and, who given the opportunity, may be expected to make an even greater contribution.

The Australia-Japan Foundation Act, proclaimed on 27 April 1976, came into effect on 10 May 1976 thus setting up the Foundation as an independent statutory authority.

The Foundation will comprise a minimum of five and a maximum of fifteen members.

Mr Russell T. Madigan, O.B.E., Chairman, Hammersley Holdings Ltd, has been appointed Chairman of the Foundation.

The following have also accepted appointment to membership of the Foundation:

The Hon. Gordon Freeth Former Ambassador to Japan and Minister for External Affairs.

Emeritus Professor Sir John Crawford, C.B.E., Chancellor of the Australian National University

Mr Baillieu Myer Director, Myer Emporium

Mr John L. Menadue Secretary, Department of Prime Minister & Cabinet

Associate Professor Owen Harries Department of Political Science University of New South Wales

Mrs Rosemary Trott Honours Student, Japanese Studies Australian National University

Mr Milton Moon Potter and Lecturer South Australian School of Art

Sir Kenneth Humphreys Chairman, United Telecasters, and Commonwealth Industrial Gases

Dr Sydney Crawcour Professorial Fellow Research School of Pacific Studies Australian National University

A Deputy Secretary representing the Department of Foreign Affairs will also be appointed to membership of the Foundation.

The President of the Australian Council of Trade Unions, Mr R.J. Hawke, has been approached and asked to nominate a Union representative. Details of the appointee will be announced following the ACTU Executive Meeting to be held on 21-22 June 1976.

Details of other appointments will also be announced at a later date.

The inaugural meeting of the Foundation will be held in mid-July 1976.