12 NOVEMBER 75.

## DATE FOR ELECTIONS AND FRASER MINISTRY

The Prime Minister, the Hon. Malcolm Fraser M.P. announced today that the Governor-General had agreed that elections for both Houses of Parliament would be held on Saturday 13 December 1975. The Prime Minister also announced that the Governor-General had sworn-in a Ministry to carry on the affairs of Government, at a ceremony at Government House Canberra.

Mr Fraser said: "following the simultaneous dissolution of the Senate and the House of Representatives by His Excellency, the Governor-General on 11 November 1975 I proposed, and the Governor-General agreed to the following timetable for elections to be held on Saturday, 13 December 1975 for both Houses of Parliament.

	Issue of Writs:	-	Monday, 17 November 1975 in New South Wales, Tasmania, Queensland, Victoria, A.C.T., and Northern Territor
	•	·	Friday, 21 November 1975 in South Australia, and Western Australia
	Nominations Close:	-	Friday, 28 November 1975.
	Polling:	<u>;</u>	Saturday, 13 December 1975.
•	Return of Writs:	· _	by Thursday, 22 January 1976.

His Excellency, as I understand, informed all State Governors of the timetable and has sought their agreement to it in connection with the election of Senators."

The Prime Minister also said that on his recommendation, the Governor-General had appointed the following to hold the offices menticned after their respective names and to administer the Departments connected with such offices:

0

The Right Honourable J. D. Anthony, M.P. to be Minister for Overseas Trade and Minister for Minerals and Energy.

The Honourable P. R. Lynch, M.P. to be Treasurer.

The Honourable I. McC. Sinclair, M.P. to be Minister for Agriculture and Minister for Northern Australia.

Senator the Honourable R. G. Withers to be Special Minister of State, Minister for the Capital Territory, Minister for the Media and Minister for Tourism and Recreation.

Senator the Honourable I. J. Greenwood, Q.C. to be Attorney-General and Minister for Police and Customs.

Senator the Honourable R. C. Cotton, to be Minister for Manufacturing Industry and Minister for Science and Consumer Affairs.

The Honourable P. J. Nixon, M.P. to be Minister for Transport and Postmaster-General

The Honourable A. S. Peacock, M.P. to be Minister for Foreign Affairs and Ministor for Environment.

The Honourable D. L. Chipp, M.P. to be Minister for Social Security, Minister for Health and Minister for Repatriation and Compensation.

The Honourable D. J. Killen, M.P. to be Minister for Defence.

Senator the Honourable T. C. Drake-Brockman, D.F.C. to be Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Minister for Administrative Services

Senator the Honourable J. L. Carrick to be Minister for Housing and Construction and Minister for Urban and Regional Development.

The Honourable A. A. Street, M.P. to be Minister for Labour and Immigration.

Senator the Honourable M. G. C. Guilfoyle to be Minister for Education.

The Prime Minister said that Mr Anthony would be the Deputy Prime Minister and that Senator Withers had been appointed Vice-President of the Executive Council. In accordance with the undertaking given to the Governor-General, the policies of the previous Government would be implemented and new policies would not be introduced, until an election was held.

"We will, of course, during the election campaign be announcing the policies that we believe to be appropriate for the revival of Australia to bring responsibility and a sense of proper behaviour to Australia's affairs", Mr Fraser said.

12th November, 1975.

- 3 -

...000...