PRIME MINISTER

Press Statement No. 553
8 September 1975

LOCATION OF AUSTRALIAN GOVERNMENT EMPLOYMENT

The Australian Government has decided to transfer a number of units of Australian Government employment to the regional growth centres of Albury-Wodonga, Bathurst-Orange and Geelong. The transfers will commence during 1975/76 and continue to 1978/79, and will involve up to 1,200 Public Servants.

The Units to be transferred to regional growth centres are :-

TO ALBURY-WODONGA

The Health Insurance Commission, Central Office
The Schools Commission, Central Administration
The Children's Commission

TO BATHURST-ORANGE

The Division of National Mapping
The Australia Police College

TO GEELONG

The National Biological Standards Laboratory

The Government has previously announced decisions to establish the National Authority on Road Safety and Standards and the Australian Heritage Commission in Albury-Wodonga and the National Animal Health Laboratory in Geelong.

The Government has also decided that certain Central Office staff will transfer from Melbourne to Canberra. During 1975/76, some 50 positions will be transferred, and studies are being undertaken in connection with the possible transfer to Canberra of other Government units in policy areas. It is expected that these studies will be completed in the near future.

The departments chiefly involved in the moves from Melbourne to Canberra in 1975/76 are Housing and Construction and Transport, both of which currently have their Central Administrations split between the two cities.

In reaching decisions about transfers to the regional growth centres of Albury-Wodonga, Bathurst-Orange and Geelong, the Government was fully conscious of the significance of such moves for the people who will be concerned. It has not taken its decisions lightly but has also had in mind furthering its objectives in regional development.

The effect of the decisions will be to provide a major stimulus to the development of growth centres, which are an important part of the Government's urban and regional development policy, and at the same time to ensure that Public Service units which have critical functional linkages to Parliament and major national institutions are located in Canberra.

Details of transfer time-tables and the conditions under which the transfers will take place have yet to be determined, pending the outcome of discussions with the development corporations concerned and with interested staff groups.

Staff associations have already been assured that a minimum of 12 months notice will be given to staff when the compulsory transfer of positions is involved.

Details of new criteria for the location of Australian Government employment in Canberra and other growth centres, which were the basis for these decisions, were announced in a Prime Ministerial press statement of 14 April 1975.

CANBERRA A.C.T.