.../2



# PRIME MINISTER

Press Statement No. 548 27 August 1975

## NEW MEMBERS OF THE AUSTRALIA COUNCIL AND ITS CONSTITUENT BOARDS

The Prime Minister today announced the names of 15 new members of the Australia Council and its constituent boards.

Mr Whitlam said that on 30 June 1974 he had implemented the principle of an annual rotation of membership for the new organization and normally one third of the membership positions would have been filled now. When the Australia Council Act was proclaimed in March last, however, it was necessary for the members to be appointed immediately to the Council and Boards.

Because of the need to preserve some continuity of experience in the Council and Boards at that time the Prime Minister had invited those members who were due to retire on 30 June 1975 to accept re-appointment to 30 June 1976. However, some members had been unable to continue and a number of vacancies had occurred in the Council and on the Boards.

The Prime Minister said the new appointments included people who had put their names forward in response to a public request by the Council for people wishing to serve in this way. He expressed his thanks to the many hundreds of people who had offered their services and said these names would be kept on a permanent register for future reference when new vacancies occurred.

Mr Whitlam said that he wished to express his gratitude to the retiring members. "Without the generosity and enthusiasm of these people we would not have succeeded in generating the degree of activity and wide interest in the arts which have become apparent over the last two-and-a-half years."

CANBERRA. A.C.T.

## MEMBERS APPOINTED FOR A THREE-YEAR PERIOD TO 30 JUNE 1978

#### COUNCIL

Professor C. Manning Clark	A.C.T.	Historian, Writer
Mr William Ferris	N.S.W.	Managing Director, International

Mr Jim Spigelman

#### BOARDS

VISUAL ARTS BOARD Mr Michael Shannon

MUSIC BOARD

Mr John Falk

Dr Martin Wesley-Smith

LITERATURE BOARD

Mr Michael Wilding

Mr John N. Bryson

FILM, RADIO AND TELEVISION BOARD Mr 'Iom Jeffrey (Chairman)

Mr George Klein

Mr Brian White

Mr Michael Williams

- Venture Corporation
- Secretary, N.S.W. Department of the Media
- Vic. Painter
  - Vic. Manager, Planning and Evaluation, Conzine Riotinto of Aust Ltd.
  - N.S.W. Composer; conductor; Tecturer in electronic music
  - N.S.W. Reader in English, University of Sydney; author and publisher

Vic. Managing Director, Bryson Industries Ltd.

- Television producer; N.S.W. former member of the Board
- Tas. President, Hobart Film. Society; Audio-Visual Resources; Registrar, Tasmanian College of Advanced Education

N.S.W. Radio journalist; filmscript writer.

Film-maker OLD.

# ABORIGINAL ARTS BOARD

Mr Bobby Ngajmirra

Mr Walter Pukutiwara

Mr Billy Stockman

- N.T. Traditional bark painter; Elder of the Oenpelli community
- S.A. Accomplished Pitjantjatjara craftsman; member of Amata community

N.T. Traditional painter; Chairman of Papunya Community Council.

 $i \! \in \! X$