

PRIME MINISTER

Press Statement No. 548 27 August 1975

NEW MEMBERS OF THE AUSTRALIA COUNCIL AND ITS CONSTITUENT BOARDS

The Prime Minister today announced the names of 15 new members of the Australia Council and its constituent boards.

Mr Whitlam said that on 30 June 1974 he had implemented the principle of an annual rotation of membership for the new organization and normally one third of the membership positions would have been filled now. When the Australia Council Act was proclaimed in March last, however, it was necessary for the members to be appointed immediately to the Council and Boards.

Because of the need to preserve some continuity of experience in the Council and Boards at that time the Prime Minister had invited those members who were due to retire on 30 June 1975 to accept re-appointment to 30 June 1976. However, some members had been unable to continue and a number of vacancies had occurred in the Council and on the Boards.

The Prime Minister said the new appointments included people who had put their names forward in response to a public request by the Council for people wishing to serve in this way. He expressed his thanks to the many hundreds of people who had offered their services and said these names would be kept on a permanent register for future reference when new vacancies occurred.

Mr Whitlam said that he wished to express his gratitude to the retiring members. "Without the generosity and enthusiasm of these people we would not have succeeded in generating the degree of activity and wide interest in the arts which have become apparent over the last two-and-a-half years."

MEMBERS APPOINTED FOR A THREE-YEAR PERIOD TO 30 JUNE 1978

COUNCIL	
	•

Professor C. Manning Clark A.C.T. Historian, Writer

Y O T Y Y Y Y Y Y Y Y

Mr William Ferris

N.S.W. Managing Director, International

Venture Corporation

Mr Jim Spigelman

N.S.W. Secretary,

Department of the Media

BOARDS

VISUAL ARTS BOARD

Mr Michael Shannon

Vic. Painter

MUSIC BOARD

Mr John Falk

Vic. Manager, Planning and Evaluation, Conzine Riotinto of Aust Ltd.

Dr Martin Wesley-Smith

N.S.W. Composer; conductor; lecturer in electronic

music -

LITERATURE BOARD

Mr Michael Wilding

N.S.W. Reader in English, University of Sydney; author and publisher

Mr John N. Bryson

Vic. Managing Director,
Bryson Industries Ltd.

FILM, RADIO AND TELEVISION BOARD

Mr Tom Jeffrey (Chairman)

N.S.W. Television producer; former member of the Board

Mr George Klein

Tas. President, Hobart Film Society; Audio-Visual Resources; Registrar, Tasmanian College of

Advanced Education

Mr Brian White

N.S.W. Radio journalist; filmscript writer.

Mr Michael Williams

QLD. Film-maker

ABORIGINAL ARTS BOARD

Mr Bobby Ngajmirra	и.т.	Traditional bark painter; Elder of the Oenpelli community
Mr Walter Pukutiwara	S.A.	Accomplished Pitjantjatjara craftsman; member of Amata community
Mr Billy Stockman	N.T.	Traditional painter; Chairman of Papunya Community Council.