

PRIME MINISTER

Press Statement No. 509 5 June 1975

NEW MINISTRY

The Prime Minister tonight announced that he had recommended to His Excellency the Governor-General, Sir John Kerr, changes in his Ministry consequent upon the resignation of Mr Lance Barnard from the House of Representatives and the appointment of Mr J.M. Riordan to the Executive Council.

The Governor-General has agreed to the proposed changes and to an announcement. Sir John has indicated that he proposes to swear Ministers in their new portfolios tomorrow morning at 10.00 a.m.

The Ministry changes will be:-

- Dr Cairns, Deputy Prime Minister, becomes Minister for Environment instead of Treasurer.
- Mr Hayden becomes Treasurer instead of Minister for Social Security.
- Senator Douglas McClelland becomes Special Minister of State instead of Minister for the Media.
- Dr Patterson becomes Minister for Northern Australia instead of Minister for Northern Development and Minister for the Northern Territory.
- Mr Cameron becomes Minister for Science and Consumer Affairs instead of Minister for Labor and Immigration.
- Mr Bowen becomes Minister for Manufacturing Industry instead of Special Minister of State.
- Senator Wheeldon becomes Minister for Social Security as well as Minister for Repatriation and Compensation.
- Mr Johnson becomes Minister for Aboriginal Affairs instead of Minister for Housing and Construction.
- Senator J.R. McClelland becomes Minister for Labor and Immigration instead of Minister for Manufacturing Industry.

Dr Cass becomes Minister for the Media instead of Minister for Environment.

Senator Cavanagh becomes Minister for Police and Customs instead of Minister for Aboriginal Affairs.

Mr Morrison becomes Minister for Defence instead of Minister for Science.

Mr Riordan will be appointed Minister for Housing and Construction.

The social welfare and rehabilitation activities of the Government are to be more closely co-ordinated and managed under the new arrangements. One Minister, Senator Wheeldon, will now be responsible for both the Departments of Social Security and Rehabilitation and Compensation.

In addition to this significant change, the Social Welfare Commission will, under later legislation, be abolished and the work of the Commission will be carried out by a bureau within the Department of Social Security.

Senator Wheeldon will also take over from the Special Minister of State the co-ordination of the rehabilitation functions and the National Advisory Council for the Handicapped.

For the present, Mr Hayden will have responsibility for the continuing negotiations with the States over Medibank and will have access to the Department of Social Security about policy matters affecting Medibank.

In other moves to rationalise and co-ordinate administrative functions, Mr Whitlam said the Department of Northern Development and the Department of the Northern Territory would become the Department of Northern Australia under Dr Patterson.

The Government's industrial relations policies in the private and public sectors will be more closely linked by giving responsibility in both areas to one Minister. Senator J. McClelland as well as being Minister for Labor and Immigration will also assist the Prime Minister on Public Service matters.

The acquisition, leasing and disposal of land and buildings in Australia on behalf of the Australian Government are important activities in the pursuit of the Government's urban and regional development policies. It therefore has been decided to transfer these functions to the Department of Urban and Regional Development. The Department of Services and Property continues to retain the control and management functions of the property.

The Minister for Urban and Regional Development will become responsible for the Australian Housing Corporation Act 1975 passed recently by the Parliament. Under later legislation, the Cities Commission will be abolished, its functions to be carried out by the Department of Urban and Regional Development.

The Australian Industry Development Corporation Act now administered by the Treasury will be transferred to the administration of the Minister for Manufacturing Industry.

The Department of Science will now be the Department of Science and Consumer Affairs.

The Australian Universities Commission and the Commission on Advanced Education will be merged under legislation to be introduced.

In other changes the Department of Services and Property will take over the Government purchasing function now exercised by the Department of Special Minister of State. The Postmaster-General will be responsible for the administration of the Telecommunications Commission and the Postal Commission. The Australian Film Commission to be established under legislation recently passed by the Parliament will come under the Prime Minister's own administration. The Department of Minerals and Energy will take over responsibility for the Minerals Research Laboratories and the Solar Energy Studies Unit.