

PRIME MINISTER

Press Statement No. 443 7 February 1975

NATIONAL ADVISORY COUNCIL FOR THE HANDICAPPED

The Prime Minister, Mr Whitlam, announced today the names of the members of the National Advisory Council for the Handicapped.

Mr Whitlam announced in December that the Council was to be established to advise the Government on all aspects of its policies affecting the rehabilitation of the injured and the handicapped, including the implementation of the rehabilitation aspects of the Woodhouse Report on Compensation and Rehabilitation in Australia. Its Chairman is Mr Justice C.L.D. Meares, of the Supreme Court of New South Wales and the Chairman of the New South Wales Law Reform Commission.

The members are:

Dr R. Andrews, Director, Schonell Educational Research Unit, University of Queensland.

Dr G. Bedbrook, O.B.E., Director, Spinal Injuries Unit, Royal Perth Hospital.

Mr W.A. Catanach, O.B.E. Managing Director, Catanach's Jewellers, Melbourne, and former Vice-President, Australian Council for Rehabilitation of Disabled.

Mr J.F. Fitzgerald, former Senator for New South Wales.

Dr Bruce Ford, M.B.E., Director, Rehabilitation Services, Alfred/Caulfield Hospitals, Melbourne.

Dr R.M. Gibson, O.B.E., Regional Geriatrician, Hunter Health Region, Newcastle.

Mr F.T. Hill, Deputy Chairman, Social Welfare Commission, Canberra.

Mr K.T. Jenkins, President, Australian Council for Rehabilitation of Disabled and Director, Bedford Industries Vocational Rehabilitation Association, Adelaide. Dr J.O. Miller, Principal, N.S.W. College of Paramedical Studies, Sydney.

Mrs Norma Rigby, M.B.E., Executive Director, Australian Association for the Mentally Retarded, Canberra.

Those members associated with organisations have been appointed in their own right, and not as representatives of those organisations.

The Prime Minister said that the Council members were among Australia's leading authorities in the rehabilitation field, and included members of major voluntary organisations as well as some handicapped people. The Government was grateful to them for agreeing to serve on the Council.

The Council will be responsible to the Special Minister of State, Mr Bowen. Its terms of reference are attached.

CANBERRA. A.C.T.