

PRIME. MINISTER

PRESS STATEMENT NO. 102

22 June 1973

FILM AND TELEVISION SCHOOL

The Prime Minister, Mr. Whitlam, today announced the names of those invited to join the permanent Council of the Film and Television School.

The Prime Minister said that the Interim Council of the Film and Television School had been set up in 1969 to advise the Government on the necessary steps to bring the School into operation. This work had now been done and Professor Jerzy Toeplitz had been appointed as the School's foundation Director.

Legislation was introduced in Parliament on 31 May to establish the School as an independent body. Mr. Whitlam said that with this step he envisaged a new kind of Council one in which the staff and students of the School would be represented and which would have strong links to film-making interests.

It was intended that when the School was fully operating the Council would have fifteen full members, five to be appointed by the Governor-General, two elected from the teachers of the School, two elected from the students, the Director of the School, and five elected by a convocation of the School. The convocation would consist of graduates of the School, staff, past Council members and representatives of the widest range of film and television interests including education, industry and community groups.

The Prime Minister said "I hope that by the appointment of a representative body of this kind it will be possible to ensure that the School conducts its activities in a way which will be most responsive to the needs of promising young film-makers and of the community which will provide a public for their work."

The Prime Minister said that the foundation Chairman of the Council would be Mr. Barry Jones, who had been a member of the Interim Council.

The names of the persons invited to join the Council were decided following wide consultation with members of the film and television industry. They are:

Hector Crawford, O.B.E. Melbourne, Managing Director of Crawford Productions Pty. Ltd.

Mrs. Julia Bailey Sydney, Education, Television and Film Producer and Writer.

John Flaus Melbourne, Lecturer at the Media Centre, School of Education, La Trobe University.

Geoffrey Healy Sydney, Manager of Group Operations, ATN Channel Seven.

Mrs. Joan Long Sydney, Film Writer and President Australian Writers Guild.

Richard Mason

Sydney, Film Producer and member of the Film and Television Board of the Australian Council for the Arts.

James Oswin Sydney, Secretary, Department of the Media.

Brian Robinson Melbourne, Lecturer-in-Charge,
Film and Television Production
Course at Swinburne College of
Technology, and member of the
Course Development Committee,
Film and Television Victoria
Institute of Colleges.

Peter Weir Sydney, Film Director

Professor Jerzy Ex officio member, foundation
Toeplitz Director of the Australian Film
and Television School.

Half of the members of the new Council would, on the completion of their initial term, be replaced by persons elected by convocation. They would, of course, be eligible for election.

CANBERRA, A.C.T.