#### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

#### PRESS STATEMENT NO. 54



16 February 1973

# PRIME MIMISTER

## AUSTRALIAN COUNCIL FOR THE ARTS

In my press statement of 26 January about the establishment of the Australian Council for the Arts, I mentioned that the basis of the work of the new Council would be seven autonomous Boards, each dealing with a different area of the Arts. The announcement contained the name of the Chairman of each of the Boards -

Aboriginal Arts Board - Mr Dick Roughsey
Crafts Board - Mrs Marea Gazzard
Literature Board - Professor G. Blainey
Music Board - Mr Donald Banks
Visual and Plastic Arts Board - Mr H.J. Bailey
Theatre Board - Mr Peter Hall
Film and Television Board - Mr Phillip Adams

I am anxious for the work of these Boards to proceed as soon as possible. They will be responsible for developing in each field important new national policies and initiatives. They will be responsible for their own affairs, and will be expected to plan a programme of future support in each area which will be of lasting value to Australian artists and the public.

I have received from the Chairmen of the Boards their suggestion for membership. The exception is the Aboriginal Arts Board, the membership of which will be announced shortly. The membership of the Boards contains a preponderance of practising professionals whose wide experience and knowledge will be invaluable.

The Government is mindful that the arts are for audiences as well as performers. The membership of the Boards, therefore, provides for representation of what might be called the consumer. Since the Boards will have to deal with finance, the structure of companies and administering organizations, legal matters and a variety of concerns where skills and knowledge other than those of the practising artist will be required, people with a broad general knowledge in these fields have also been invited to join the Boards. In addition, the membership will include people whose work on previous advisory boards will be of value during the early stages.

The invitations to new members provide for a regular inflow of new ideas. All the initial terms of members will be for one or two years. There will be provision for the Boards to co-opt one or two additional members if they require them for particular purposes. It is our nope over the coming years to involve in the public administration of the Arts a wide cross section of interested and knowledgeable people.

The people who have accepted my invitations to join the Boards are:-

# MUSIC BOARD

Ž.

Mr. Donald Banks (Chairman)	***	Composer, Teacher, Administrator, Former Director of Music University of London, Goldsmith' College Creative Arts Fellow - ANU 1972/73 A.C.T.
Mr. John Hopkins, O.B.E.	-	Conductor, Federal Director of Music, ABC: Conductor Australian Youth Orchestra and Prom Concerts: N.S.W.
Professor Frank Callaway, O.B.E.	-	Chairman, Department of Music, USA Chairman W.A. Arts Advisory Board, World President Inter-National Society for Music Education, W.A.
Mr. Robert Hughes	_	Composer
Mr. John Painter	-	Cellist; Former Principal Cellist with the SSO and Member Sydney String Quartet.
Miss Elizabeth Silsbury	-	Snr Lecturer in Music at Bedford Park Teachers College; Pianist, S.A.
Mr. Rodney John Taylor	<b></b>	Director North Queensland Conservatorium of Music; Baritone, Qld.
Miss Winsome Evans	-	Leader, Renaissance Players, Harpsichordist; Music Tutor, University of Sydney; Assistant Musical Director Young Opera, N.S.W
Mr. Kenneth Tribe	-	Solicitor, Chairman Musica Viva Australia; President Adult Deaf and Dumb Society of NSW; N.S.W.
Mr. Kim Williams	-	Composer, Actively involved with Contemporary Music Societies in Sydney.
Miss Jeannie Lewis	-	Leading Vocalist of Jazz, Pop, Rock and Contemporary Music, N.S.W.

## FILM AND TELEVISION BOARD

Mr. Phillip Adams	-	Film Producer; Governor Australian Film Institute, Vic.
Mr. Tom Jeffrey	-	Producer/Director Air Programmes International, N.S.W.
Miss Sylvia Lawson	-	Film Critic
Mr. Gill Brealey	-	Director S.A. Film Corporation, Educationalist, Film Producer, S.A.
Miss Dawn Brown	-	Educationalist, Vic.
Mr. John McQuaid	-	Secretary of Australian Theatrical Employees Association, N.S.W.
Mr. Joe O'Sullivan	-	Director, Perth Institute for Film Technology, W.A.
Mr. Barry Jones, M.L.A.	-	Member Australian Film Development Corporation, Member Interim Council for Film and Television School, Vic.
Mr. Jim Harris	-	Lecturer, Swinburne Technical College, Script Writer, Vic.
Mr. Jack Neary		Principal of NLT Pty. Ltd.
Mr. Richard Mason	-	Deputy Director Commonwealth Film Unit; Governor of Australian Film Institute, N.S.W.

## LITERATURE BOARD

Professor Geoffrey Blainey (Chairman)		Professor Economic History, University of Melbourne; Former Chairman, CLF, Vic.
Mr. Geoffrey Dutton	~	Publisher Sun Books; Novelist, Poet, S.A.
Professor A.D. Hope	-	Vice President Australian Society of Authors; Poet, Former Member CLF, A.C.T.
Mr. Judah Waren	-	Novelist, Vic.
Miss Elizabeth Riddell	-	Journalist, N.S.W.
Mr. David Malouf	-	Poet; Critic, N.S.W.
Miss Nancy Deesing	-	Critic; Poet, N.S.W.
Mr. Thomas Shapcott	-	Poet, Qld.
Professor Manning Clark	-	Professor of Australian History, ANU, A.C.T.
Mr. Richard Hall	-	Playwright, N.S.W.

Mr. Richard Walsh

Managing Editor, Angus and Robertson; Publisher, Nation Review N.S.W.

# THEATRE ARTS BOARD

Mr. Peter Hall (Chairman)		Architect Sydney Opera House; Former Member of the Australian Council for the Arts, N.S.W.
Mr. T.C. Bray, C.B.E.	-	Former Managing Director Queensland Newspapers Pty. Ltd.; Former Member and Deputy Chairman, Australian Council for the Arts Qld.
Firs. H.W. Houghton	-	Former Member of the Australian Council for the Arts; Tas.
Miss Marilyn Jones	-	Dancer, Vic.
Miss Joan Hammond	-	Orera Singer, Vic.
Mr. Gary Hutchinson	-	Writer, Poet, Vic.
Mr. John Stoddart	-	Designer, N.S.W.
Mr. Anthony Steel	-	General Manager, Adelaide Festival Centre Trust; Artistic Director Adelaide Festival, S.A.
Mr. Tom Brown	-	Theatre Consultant, N.S.W.
Mr. Colin Cave	, <b>-</b>	Director CAE Victoria (Vice- President Arts Council); Vic.
Mr. Ron Haddrick		Actor, N.S.W.
Mr. Don Crosby		Actor, N.S.W.
Mrs. Patrician Wynn		Vic.

# VISUAL AND PLASTIC ARTS BOARD

Mr. John Baily (Chairman)	-	Chairman, Adelaide Festival Centre Trust, Painter, S.A.
Mr. Ron Roberston-Swann	-	Sculptor/Painter, N.S.W.
Mr. Nigel Lenden	-	Sculptor, S.A./Vic.
Mr. James Mollison	-	Director, National Gallery, Canberra, A.C.T.
Mr. David Thomas	~	Director, Newcastle Art Gallery, N.S.W.
Mr. Patrick McCaughey	-	Writer, Critic, Vic.
Mr. Lenton Parr	-	Sculptor, Director National Gallery, Art School; Vic.
Mrs. Anne Lewis	~	Gallery A, International Committee of Museum of Modern Art; N.S.W.
Mr. Fred Williams	·•	Painter Former Member CAAB; Vic.
Mr. Len French	-	Painter, Vic.
Mr. James Fleeson	-	Painter, N.S.W.
Mr. Udo Sellbach		Graphite Artist; Tas.

# CRAFTS BOARD

Mrs. Marea Gazzard (Chairman)		Ceramist; Asian Vice-President, World Crafts Council, N.S.W.
Mr. Les Blakeborough	-	Community Crafts; Past Director Sturt Workshops; now at Art Department, College of Advanced Education, Hobart. TAS.
Miss Fay Bottrell		Textiles; weaver,; teacher, N.S.W.
Mr. Ken Leveson	-	Jeweller; Potter; Educator in Technical Colleges, VIC.
Mrs. Joy De Gruchey	-	Director Craftsman's Market; Interior Designer, QLD.
Mrs. Joan Campbell	-	Ceramist; Educator, Country and community programmes Youths; W.A.
Mr. Maurice Isaacs	-	Sociologist; Businessman; Collector N.S.W.
Mrs. Marjorie Ritchie	-	Crafts Marketing; Eltham Community, VIC.
Mr. Dick Richards	<b>-</b> -	Jeweller; Administrator, Curatoran S.A. Gallery; Member Craft Inquiry, S.A.
Mr. Kenneth Hood	-	Curator, Decorative Arts, National Gallery of Victoria, VIC.
Mr. Tom Heath	-	Architect; Art Critic, N.S.W.
Mr. F. Belgiorno Nettis	-	Collector; Transfield Biennale; Chairman TRANSFIELD INDUSTRIES.