PRIME MINISCER

PRESS STATEMENT NO. 38

17 January 1973

HIGH COURT DESIGN COMPETITION

Six competitors have been selected to submit designs for a new High Court building in Canberra. The competitors will be required to submit entries developed to final design standard by 1 June 1973.

The selection of the winner's design will be made soon after. The competitors are:

Cameron, Chisholm and Nicol, of Perth
Rodney Connors, of Sydney
Edwards, Madigan, Torzillo and Briggs, of Sydney
Guy Maron, of Adelaide
McIntyre, McIntyre, of Melbourne
Perrott, Lyon, Timlock and Kesa, of Melbourne

Their selection follows the competition of adjudication of entries in the first stage of the High Court Design Competition.

The Assessors for the competition are:

Sir Garfield Barwick,
Sir John Overall,
Professor P.H. Karmel,
Mr. E.H. Farmer, and
Mr. Daryl Jackson.

CAIBERRA. A.C.T.