EMBARGO:

NOT FOR PUBLICATION OR BROADCAST BEFORE
10.00 PM, SUNDAY 21 MARCH 1971

FOR PRESS:

PM No. 35/1971

THE MINISTRY

Statement by the Prime Minister, Mr. William McMahon

His Excellency the Governor-General has authorised me to announce that there will be a swearing-in of certain Ministers into their new portfolios tomorrow (Monday, 22 March).

As a consequence, the Cabinet and the Ministry will then comprise the following:-

*1.	Prime Minister	The Rt. Hon. William McMahon, M.P.
	Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Trade and Industry	The Hon. J. D Anthony, M. P.
*3.	Minister for Defence	The Rt. Hon. J.G. Gorton, M.P.
*4.	Minister for Primary Industry	The Hon. In Sinclair, M.P.
*5.	Minister for Supply and Leader of the Government in the Senate	Senator the Hon. Sir Kenneth Anderson
*6.	Minister for National Development and Leader of the House	The Hon. R. W.C. Swartz, M. B. E., E. D., M. P.
* 7.	Treasurer	The Hon. B. M. Snedden, Q. C., M. P.
*8.	Attorney-General	The Hon. N.H. Bowen, Q.C., M.P.
*9.	Minister for Education and Science	The Hon. David Fairbairn, D.F.C., M.P.
*10.	Postmaster-General and Vice-President of the Executive Council	The Hon. Sir Alan Hulme, K.B.E., M.P.
*11.	Minister for Foreign Affairs	The Hon. L.H.E. Bury, M.P.
*12.	Minister for Shipping and Transport	The Hon. P. J. Nixon, M. P.
*13.	Minister for Labour and National Service	The Hon. Phillip Lynch, M.P.

14. Minister for External Territories

15. Minister for Immigration

16. Minister for Social Services

17. Minister for Works

18. Minister for Civil Aviation

19. Minister for Customs and Excise

20. Minister for Air

21. Minister for the Army

22. Minister for Repatriation

23. Minister for Health

24. Minister for the Navy

25. Minister for the Interior

26. Minister for Housing

The Hon. C. E. Barnes, M. P.

The Hon. A. J. Forbes, M. C., M. P.

The Hon. W.C. Wentworth, M.P.

Senator the Hon. R.C. Wright

Senator the Hon. Robert Cotton'

The Hon. D.L. Chipp, M.P.

Senator the Hon. Tom Drake-Brockman, D. F. C.

The Hon. Andrew Peacock, M.P.

The Hon. R. McN. Holten, M.P.

Senator I. J. Greenwood, Q.C.

Dr.M.G. MacKay, M.P.

The Hon. Ralph J. Hunt, M.P.

Mr. K. M. K. Cairns, M. P.

I have proposed to His Excellency that Senator I. J. Greenwood, Q.C., Dr. M.G. Mackay, M.P., and Mr. K.M.K. Cairns, M.P. be sworn as Members of the Federal Executive Council.

The first 13 Ministers named will comprise the Cabinet.

I foreshadow that a proposal will be put before Parliament for the amendment of the Ministers of State Act 1952-1968 to provide for an increase in the number of Ministers from twenty-six to twenty-seven. Providing Parliament has passed, and assent has been given to, the necessary amendments, I shall recommend to His Excellency the appointment of an additional Minister who will administer the Department of the Vice-President of the Executive Council. In the meantime, the Postmaster-General will administer the Department.

Monday's swearing will involve nine Ministers. It will take place at 2 p.m.

I mention the following administrative arrangements:

- (a) Mr. Wentworth and Senator Wright will continue their functions in relation to Aboriginal Affairs and Tourist Activities respectively.
- (b) Mr. Peacock will continue as Minister assisting the Prime Minister.

It is intended to appoint in due course certain Assistant Ministers or Parliamentary Under-Secretaries who would be sworn of the Executive Council and assigned to assist particular Ministers. At that stage the present "Minister assisting" arrangements will be reviewed. I am of the strong view that it is desirable to proceed on these lines, because of the growing complexity of government and the need for additional members of Parliament to gain experience both in the legislative and administrative fields.

I mention also that the outgoing Minister for Labour and National Service, Mr. Snedden, now to be Treasurer, will, for the time being, have control of industrial relations policy.

CANBERRA 21 March 1971

NOTE: This is embargoed until 10.00 pm, Sunday 21 March 1971