

## NEW DATE FOR FIVE POWER TALKS

## Statement by the Prime Minister, Mr. John Gorton

The Five Power talks in Canberra will now be held on 19 and 20 June.

In London last month, the Prime Ministers of Malaysia, Singapore, New Zealand and Australia, and the British Defence Minister, agreed to a meeting in Canberra in May.

Subsequently, the Malaysian Government asked that the dates be varied and the new arrangements have been made in consultation between the five governments.

The first meeting of representatives of Britain, New Zealand, Malaysia, Singapore and Australia to consider questions arising from the British withdrawal from Malaysia and Singapore was held in Kuala Lumpur in June of last year.

CANBERRA 24 February 1969