FOR PRESS:



P. M. No. 74/1968

INTERIM CCUNCIL FOR NATIONAL GALLERY

Statement by the Prime Minister, Mr. John Gorton

An Interim Council has been appointed for the Australian National Gallery in Canberra. The Council will be responsible for the new Gallery during its planning and construction stages.

I am pleased to announce that twelve distinguished Australians have accepted the Government's invitation to become members of this Interim Council.

They are:-

Sir Daryl LINDSAY (Chairman)

Dame Zara HOLT

Dame Mabel MILLER

Sir Henry BASTEN

Professor Joseph BURKE

Mr. W. A. DARGIE

Mr. James O. FAIRFAX

Mr. Leonard FRENCH

Mr. Kenneth MYER

Sir James FLIMSCLL

Professor Charles F. PRESLEY

Professor Bernard SMITH

I am sure they will make a valuable contribution to the establishment of our National Gallery. During the design and construction period, the Interim Council - as the client - will be concerned with determining the needs of the Gallery itself, and its methods of display and operation.

The Interim Council will be associated with the Prime Minister's Department.

CANBERRA 26 July 1968

BACKGROUND NOTES

CHAIRMAN:

Sir Daryl LINDSAY, A.R. W.S., HON. LL.D. (A.N.U.)

Distinguished artist; Director, National Gallery of Victoria 1942-56. Chairman, Commonwealth Art Advisory Board of which he has been a member since 1953; Chairman, National Art Gallery Committee of Enquiry 1965/66; Member, National Capital Planning Committee, Canberra. Represented in all Australian National Galleries and Victoria and Albert Museum, London.

MEMBERS:

Dame Zara HOLT

A wide knowledge of art, based on an active interest in this field over many years.

Dame Mabel MILLER, LL. B.

M. H. A. for Franklin, Tasmania, 1955-64. Deputy Lord Mayor of Hobart, 1954-56, 1964-66; Alderman since 1962. Barrister. Past President, National Council of Women.

Sir Henry BASTEN, C. M. G., M. A.

Chairman, Australian Universities Commission; Vice-Chancellor, University of Adelaide, South Australia, 1958-68. Member of the National Art Gallery Committee of Enquiry 1965/66.

Professor Joseph BURKE, O.B.E., M.A.

Professor of Fine Arts, University of Melbourne since 1947. Member, National Art Gallery Committee of Enquiry 1965/66. Assistant Keeper Victoria and Albert Museum, London, 1938.

Mr. William Alexander DARGIE, O.B. E., F. R. S. A. (Lond.)... F. R. A. S. (N. S. W.)

Distinguished artist. Member, Commonwealth Art Advisory Board since 1953; Member of the National Art Gallery Committee of Enquiry 1965/66; Head, National Gallery of Victoria Art School, 1946-53. Official War Artist with A. I. F. Winner of Archibald Prize for Portraiture on number of occasions. Painted a portrait of H. M. The Queen for the Commonwealth of Australia in 1954. Represented in many collections.

Mr. James Oswald FAIRFAX, M.A.

Director, John Fairfax Ltd., Sydney, since 1957. Director, Amalgamated T.V. Services Pty. Ltd., since 1958 and Director, Associated Newspapers Ltd. since 1958. Member of National Art Gallery Committee of Enquiry 1965/66.

Mr. Leonard William FRENCH

Distinguished artist. Exhibitions Officer, National Gallery of Victoria, 1958-60. Awarded many prizes including Harkness Fellowship 1965, Crouch Prize 1959, Sulman 1960, Blake 1963. Commissioned to do the stained glass roof in the Victorian Arts Centre and windows in the National Library, Canberra. Represented in Australian National Galleries.

Mr. Kenneth MYER, D.S.C.

Deputy Chairman and Managing Director, Myer Emporium Ltd., Melbourne, since 1960. Member, Council of National Library of Australia; Deputy Chairman, Victorian National Art Gallery and Cultural Centre Building Committee.

Sir James PLIMSOLL, C.B.E.

Secretary, Department of External Affairs, Canberra, since 1965. Australian High Commissioner to India and Ambassador to Nepal 1963-65. Australian Permanent Representative to United Nations, New York, 1959-63.

Professor Charles F. PRESLEY, B.A., B. Litt.

Professor Philosophy, University of Queensland, since 1962.

Professor Bernard SMITH, B.A., Ph.D., F.S.A.

Professor of Contemporary Art and Director of the Power Institute of Fine Arts, University of Sydney. Member Australian Humanities Research Council since 1956. Formerly Art Critic of "The Age" (Melbourne).