FOR PRESS:



P. M. No. 73/1968

ARCHITECT FCR NATIONAL GALLERY

Statement by the Prime Minister, Mr. John Gorton

A Sydney firm - Edwards, Madigan, Torzillo and Partners - has been selected to design the Australian National Gallery in Canberra.

The competition to choose the architect was launched in March this year among twelve architects practising in Australia.

The competition had as its aim not a final design for the building but rather the selection of a vigorous and imaginative architect who would then be commissioned to submit the actual design of the Gallery. I believe that the competition has achieved that aim.

The assessors, in their report, commented on the high quality of all the entries submitted and stressed the ingenuity and originality of their approach.

Although a site for the Gallery is not yet finally determined, the selection of the architect allows the planning for the National Gallery to proceed to the next stage. This will involve discussions between the successful architect, the eminent Gallery Director, Mr. James J. Sweeney of New York, who has been engaged as consultant, the development authority for the Gallery (the National Capital Development Commission) and the newly selected Interim Council for the National Gallery.

CANBERRA 26 July 1968

BACKGROUND NOTES

1.

- The decision to establish a National Gallery in Canberra was announced by Sir Robert Menzies on 10 September 1965, and the report of the National Gallery Committee of Enquiry (Lindsay Committee) was tabled by the late Prime Minister (Mr. Harold Holt) in Parliament on 1 November 1967.
- 2. The architectural competition was not for a final design for a Gallery, but for the selection of an architect whose entry convinced the assessors that his design approach would warrant his appointment as the architect for the project. (The assessors were Sir John Overall, Mr. Robin Boyd and Mr. J. L. McConnell).
- 3. The entries were judged anonymously, the twelve competing architects (list attached) having enclosed their names in sealed envelopes when they submitted their designs.
- 4. The envelopes were kept in security storage at the Reserve Bank. The sealed envelope corresponding to the winning entry was delivered to the Prime Minister today by the Minister for the Interior, Mr. Nixon.
- 5. At a brief ceremony in his office this morning (attended by Mr. Nixon, Sir John Overall, Sir Daryl Lindsay, Mr. J. L. McConnell, Mr. Robin Boyd and Mr. C. L. S. Hewitt), the Prime Minister opened the envelope and announced the name of the successful architect.

LIST OF ARCHITECTS IN THE COMPETITION

Ancher, Mortlock, Murray and Woolley of North Sydney, N. S. W.

Cameron, Chisholm and Nicol of Perth, W.A.

Clarke, Gazzard and Partners of Sydney, N.S.W.

Edwards, Madigan, Torzillo and Partners of Sydney, N.S.W. (WINNER)

Don Fulton of Melbourne, Vic.

Godfrey and Spowers, Hughes, Mewton and Lobb of Melbourne, Vic.

Roy Grounds of Melbourne, Vic.

Hely and Horne of Sydney, N.S.W.

McIntyre and McIntyre Pty. Ltd. of Melbourne, Vic.

Harry Seidler and Associates of Sydney, N.S.W.

Evan Walker and Daryl Jackson of East Melbourne, Vic.

Yuncken Freeman Architects Pty. Ltd. of Melbourne, Vic.