COMMITTEE ON THE FUTURE OF TERTIARY EDUCATION Statement by the Prime Minister, the Rt. Hon. R.G. Menzies

The Prime Minister announced today the composition of the Committee which the Government has established to inquire into the future of tertiary education. The Committee would be a committee of the Australian Universities Commission and under the chairmanship of the Chairman of the Commission, Sir Leslie Martin. Professor C.R. McRae, formerly Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Professor of Education in the University of Sydney, would act as Deputy Chairman and Dr. C.M. Gilray, former Principal of Scotch College, Melbourne and Deputy Chancellor of the University of Melbourne, as an executive member. Other members who have accepted invitations to serve on the Committee are -

Sir Keith Angas, Grazier and recently Chairman of St. Mark's College Council, University of Adelaide.

Professor A.H. Ennor, Deputy Chairman of the Institute of Advanced Studies and Dean of the John Curtin School of Medical Research in the Australian National University

Sir Alexander Fitzgerald, former Professor of Accountancy, University of Melbourne and for many years Chairman of the Commonwealth Grants Commission

Professor Sir Edward Ford, Professor of Preventive Medicine and Director of the School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine at the University of Sydney

Mr. N.E. Jones, Managing Director, Broken Hill Proprietary Ltd., and Chairman of Finance Committee, University of Melbourne

Professor P.H. Karmel, Professor of Economics in the University of Adelaide

Mr. R.R. Mackay, Principal, Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology.

Professor F.J. Schonell, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Queensland and formerly Professor of Education in that University

Sir Samuel Wadham, former Professor of Agriculture in the University of Malbourne

Mr. L.W. Weickhardt, Technical Director, Imperial Chemical Industries

Dr. H.S. Wyndham, Director-General of Education in New South Wales.

In announcing the composition of the Committee the Prime Minister recalled that the recommendations of the Murray Committee and, more recently, those of the Australian Universities Commission had been accepted by the Commonwealth and State Governments with the result that vastly increased grants have been made available for universities since 1958. However, the rapidly increasing number of students who may wish to take advantage of tertiary education and other factors, such as student wastage, staff shortage and the pressure on universities generally, make it imperative that we investigate the best way of making the most efficient use of available and potential resources.

The Government has decided, therefore, to establish this Committee to consider the pattern of tertiary education in relation to the needs and resources of Australia and to make recommendations to the Commission on the future development of tertiary education.

The Prime Minister said that the Committee would make a wide-ranging investigation and it was hoped that it would be able to complete its work and submit its recommendations before the end of the 1961/63 triennium.

Committees of enquiry in this field have already been created by the State Governments of New South Wales and Victoria and close association between the National and State Committees would be of the greatest value. In the United Kingdom a Committee with similar responsibilities had been established under the Chairmanship of Lord Robbins.

The Prime Minister expressed the hope that the Committee would have the benefit of advice and co-operation from the Australian Vice-Chancellors' Committee, University staff, the Commonwealth Office of Education, State Departments of Education and other Commonwealth and State Departments and instrumentalities.

CANBERRA,

27th August, 1961.