P.M.No.27/1959.

FOR PRESS:

AUSTRALIAN UNIVERSITIES COMMISSION APPOINTMENT OF PART-TIME COMMISSIONERS.

Statement by the Prime Minister, Rt. Hon. R.G. Menzies, C.H., Q.C., M.P.

The Prime Minister, Mr. Menzies, announced today the names of the four part-time Commissioners who, with the full-time Chairman, Sir Leslie Martin, C.B.E., will constitute the Australian Universities Commission.

They are:-

- Professor N.S. Bayliss, Victorian Rhodes Scholar at Oxford 1927-30, Professor of Chemistry in the University of Western Australia since 1938. He has also been Chairman of the Professorial Board and Acting Vice-Chancellor of that University from time to time.
- Professor A.D. Trendall, Master of University House, Australian National University, and Emeritus Professor of Classics, University of Sydney. He was Chairman of the Professorial Board of the University of Sydney in 1945-49 and again in 1952-54 and was Acting Vice-Chancellor in 1953.
- Mr. K.A. Wills, C.B.E., M.C., E.D., O.St.J., Managing Director of G. & R. Wills, Adelaide, and Chairman of the Finance Committee of the University of Adelaide.
 Dr. J. Vernon, General Manager, Colonial Sugar Refining Co. Ltd., who has a distinguished academic career and wide experience in industry.

Mr. Menzies said he was greatly pleased that men of such standing and experience had agreed to accept the responsibilities of membership of the Commission in addition to their existing commitments. The Government, he added, was grateful also to the Universities and the business firms concerned, which in the national interest had agreed to put up with the inconvenience that must inevitably result from the absence on Commission business of such key men.

CANBERRA, A.C.T. 21st July, 1959.