COMMONWEALTH CONFERENCE ON EDUCATION, ENGLAND, 7-29TH JULY.

Statement by the Acting Prime Minister, Rt. Hon. J. McEwen, M.P.

The Acting Prime Minister, Mr. McEwen, announced today the names of the Australian delegates to the Commonwealth Conference on Education to begin in London on 7th July and continue at Oxford from 15th to 29th July.

Mr. McEwen said the delegation would be led by Sir Allen Brown, C.B.E., Deputy High Commissioner for Australia in the United Kingdom. Members of the delegation who would travel from Australia would be:-

Rt. Hon. Sir Earle Page, G.C.M.G., C.H., M.P.

Mr. H.B. Basten, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Adelaide.

- Dr. R.B. Madgwick, Vice-Chancellor of the University of New England.
- Dr. H.S. Wyndham, Director-General of Education in New South Wales.
- Mr. D.H. Tribolet, Director of Education in Tasmania.
- Dr. R. Mendelsohn, Assistant Secretary, Prime Minister's Department, Canberra.
- Mr. J.J. Pratt, Deputy Director, Commonwealth Office of Education.

The delegation would be supplemented as necessary from officers stationed at Australia House, London.

Mr. McEwen said that the conference resulted from the Commonwealth Trade and Economic Conference in Montreal in September, 1958, when it was agreed in principle to establish a new scheme of Commonwealth scholarships and fellowships, and to hold a conference in the United Kingdom this year. The purpose of this conference was to review existing arrangements for co-operation between Commonwealth countries in the field of education, and to make recommendations for any improvements or expansion that might be possible with the idea of incorporating them in a new scheme as envisaged by the Montreal Conference.

CANBERRA, June 25, 1959.

ALL MALL MALL MELL IN LINE PULL