

PRIME MINISTER

47/93

STATEMENT BY THE PRIME MINISTER, THE HON P J KEATING MP

This afternoon's meeting of the Labor Party Caucus elected thirty members of the ministry. The following candidates were successful:

Paul Keating, Brian Howe, Senator Gareth Evans, Senator Robert Ray, Senator Peter Cook, David Beddall, Ross Free, Jeannette McHugh, Gordon Bilney, Robert Tickner, Ros Kelly, Peter Baldwin, Simon Crean, Senator Nick Bolkus, Kim Beazley, John Dawkins, Alan Griffiths, Senator Bob Collins, Ralph Willis, Michael Lee, Senator Graham Richardson, Michael Lavarch, Laurie Brereton, Senator Bob McMullan, Duncan Kerr, Senator Rosemary Crowley, Frank Walker, Senator John Faulkner, Senator Chris Schacht, George Gear.

The allocation of ministerial portfolios will be announced tomorrow morning, before the swearing in ceremony at Government House.

The Parliamentary Leaders in the House of Representatives remain Paul Keating and Brian Howe. In the Senate, Senator Gareth Evans is the leader, with Senator Robert Ray the deputy.

The Government's candidate for the position of Speaker of the House of Representatives is Mr Stephen Martin. The candidate for Deputy Speaker is Harry Jenkins.

Mr Leo McLeay was elected Government Whip in the House of Representatives. Senator Gerry Jones will be the Government Whip in the Senate.

Mr Jim Snow was elected chairman of Caucus, with Senator Suc West the Caucus secretary.

The selection of the Government's candidate for the position of President of the Senate has been deferred until the next Caucus meeting, probably early in May.

CANBERRA March 23, 1993