

# PRIME MINISTER

32/92

STATEMENT BY THE PRIME MINISTER, THE HON P J KEATING, MP

MEMBERSHIP OF CABINET COMMITTEES

Attached are details of changes to the Cabinet Committee system, designed to better reflect the Government's priorities. Membership changes take account of Ministry changes.

The number of Cabinet Committees has been reduced from nine to seven, with the abolition of the Public Service Reform Committee and the General Administrative Committee. The broad issues of public sector efficiency and reform will be picked up by Structural Adjustment Committee; general issues not falling within any of the new committees' terms of reference will go direct to Cabinet.

A new committee, Sustainable Development Committee, will become a full committee of Cabinet, with an enhanced role on major projects.

In summary, the Cabinet Committee system now consists of:

- . Structural Adjustment Committee;
- . Sustainable Development Committee;
- . Social Justice Committee;
- . Expenditure Review Committee;
- . Security Committee;
- . Parliamentary Business Committee; and
- . Legislation Committee.

Membership details are set out in the attachment.

CANBERRA 27 MARCH 1992

#### MEMBERSHIP OF CABINET AND COMMITTEES

### CABINET

Prime Minister\*, Mr Howe, Sen Button, Sen Evans, Mr Dawkins, Mr Willis, Mr Duffy, Mr Beazley, Dr Blewett, Sen Richardson, Sen Ray, Mr Hand, Mrs Kelly, Sen Cook, Sen Bolkus, Mr Crean, Mr Griffiths, Sen Collins

#### Expenditure Review

Prime Minister\* Mr Howe Sen Button Sen Evans Mr Dawkins (D) Mr Willis Mr Beazley Sen Richardson Dr Blewett

# Social Justice

Prime Minister\* Mr Howe (D) Mr Dawkins Mr Willis Dr Blewett Mr Hand Sen Cook Mr Crean Sen Tate Mr Staples Mr Simmons Mr Humphreys Mr Baldwin Ms Fatin Mr Tickner. Mr Snowdon\*\*

\* Chair
(D) Deputy
Chair
(CD) Co-Deputy
Chair
\*\* Parliamentary
Secretary

\_, ·

26 March 1992

CAB09572

Prime Minister\* Mr Howe (D) Sen Button Sen Evans Mr Duffy (CD) Mr Beazley Dr Blewett Sen Ray Mr Griffiths Sen Collins Mr Free Sen McMullan\*\* Mr Brereton\*\*

## Structural Adjustment

Prime Minister\* Mr Howe Sen Button (D) Sen Evans Mr Dawkins Mr Willis Mr Beazley Sen Richardson Mrs Kelly Sen Cook Mr Crean Mr Griffiths Sen Collins Mr Kerin Mr Beddall Mr Bilney Mr Free

# Parliamentary Business Legislation

Prime Minister\* Sen Evans Mr Duffy (D) Mr Griffiths Sen Tate Mr Simmons Mr Tickner Mr Free Sen McMullan\*\* Mr Brereton\*\*

# Sustainable Development

Prime Minister\* Mr Howe Sen Button (D) Mr Dawkins Mr Willis Sen Richardson Mrs Kelly Sen Bolkus Mr Crean Mr Griffiths Mr Kerin Mr Brown Mr Free Mr Brereton\*\*

# Security

Prime Minister\* Sen Evans (D) Mr Beazley Mr Duffy Sen Ray Mr Kerin