



PRIME MINISTER

FOR MEDIA

22 OCTOBER 1986

The Prime Minister today presented the Australian Peace Awards to 14 recipients to mark the International Year of Peace.

The awards, presented at a ceremony at the Lodge, are in recognition of outstanding contributions to the cause of peace by Australian individuals and organisations.

The Australian Peace Awards, created by the Government, consist of silver medallions inscribed with the United Nations International Year of Peace symbol and the Australian Coat of Arms.

Those who received awards today are:

- . Dr Ian Newman, for his contribution to the peace movement in Tasmania and as a representative of the valuable work of Scientists Against Nuclear Arms.
- Dr Keith Suter, for services to peace in many areas as the former President of the United Nations Association of Australia, and as a scholar and public speaker on peace issues.
- . Mrs Elsie Gare and also on behalf of Mr Cyril Gare (posthumously), for their dedicated work over many years in the peace movement in Western Australia and in particular for their outstanding work among the Aboriginal community.
- Dr Ian Maddocks (president), on behalf of The Medical Association for Prevention of War for utilisation of their professional skills in encouraging public awareness of the urgent need for disarmament and the prevention of nuclear catastrophe.
- . Miss Ellie Barry, for her outstanding work as a Red Cross nursing sister in a number of fields including with the Aboriginal people in Queensland, in the Kampuchean Relief program and in setting up public health programs in Mekele and Axum in Ethiopia.
- . Mrs Carol Durnian (wife), on behalf of Mr Kevin Durnian in recognition of the role of the trade union movement in promoting peace issues and particularly the work of the Seamen's Union over the years in this area.

- Mr Guilford Summy (son), on behalf of Mr Ralph Summy for his services to peace education and specifically his work on the theory and dynamics of non-violent political action.
- . Ms Barbara Lord, on behalf of Peace Publications Co-operative for its contribution to public awareness and education through extensive and original coverage of peace issues in the national magazine "Peace Studies".
- . Mr Jeff Kildea (chairman), on behalf of the Catholic Commission for Justice and Peace for work in matters relating to human development and social justice in Australia and abroad.
- Rev. Dorothy McMahon, for her work in the field of human rights and particularly in representing women's viewpoints on the need for disarmament and the prevention of nuclear war.
- . Mr David Worth, on behalf of The Peace Bus (People for Nuclear Disarmament, NSW) for work in raising public awareness of peace and disarmament issues in a number of States, including within rural communities.
- . Mr Bill Mowbray, Deputy Lord Mayor, on behalf of Wollongong City Council in recognition of its program of activities to raise community awareness of peace issues within the city of Wollongong, thus representing the constructive role which can be played by local government throughout Australia.
- . Mr William Gollan, for his outstanding contribution over many years to the work of the peace movement in New South Wales.
- . Ms Jennifer Burnley, for outstanding services to peace education, particularly through the foundation of the Peace Studies Curriculum Group.

In all, 20 awards were made, but six recipients were unable to attend the ceremony.

The recipients were selected by a committee of prominent Australians consisting of:

- . Melbourne fashion designer, Ms Prue Acton
- . Tasmanian businessman, Mr Claudio Alcorso
- . Visiting Fellow, ANU (former Governor, Reserve Bank) Dr H.C. Coembs
- . Assistant Secretary, Furnishing Trade Union of South Australia, Mr Paul Dunstan
- . Auxiliary Catholic Bishop of Brisbane, The Most Rev. J.J. Gerry
- . Actress, Ms Tessa Mallos
- . Judge, Supreme Court of Western Australia, Mr Justice H.W. Olney