

PRIME MINISTER

FOR MEDIA

WEDNESDAY, MARCH 26 1980

:5

CANDERRA

LIBHARY

SPARE

LÔ

APPOINTMENTS TO THE ADVISORY COUNCIL FOR

INTER-GOVERNMENT RELATIONS

The Prime Minister today announced eight re-appointments and one appointment to the Advisory Council of Inter overnment Relations.

The Advisory Council which was established in 1976 with the object of improving inter-government relations and co-operation is an essential feature of the Commonwealth Government's Federalism Policy. The 22 member Council has members representing Commonwealth, State, local government and the community.

The Hon. I.G. Medcalf, Attorney-General, Minister for Federal Affairs and Leader of the Government in the Western Australian Legislative Council and the Hon. Kathleen Venn are re-appointed on the nomination of the Premiers of Western Australia and Tasmania respectively.

The Australian Council of Local Government Associations has re-nominated Warden F.L. Britton of Tasmania, Councillor F.A. Roger of Queensland and Councillor William Thwaites of Victoria.

The three citizen members re-nominated after `consultation with the State Premiers include Mrs Patricia Bernard (New South Wales), the Hon. Peter Howson (Victoria), and Mr H.E. Peterson (Queensland).

The Hon. Justice Kemeri Murray was appointed as a citizen member following consultation with the Government of South Australia.

The contribution of those members appointed for a second term has been appreciated by the Commonwealth, State and local governments and their further contribution to the activities of the Council is welcomed.
