751/3P

## 18th December, 1975

The Governor-General, Sir John Kerr, has agreed to the swearing in of a new Ministry on Monday, 22 December, and to the announcement today of the proposed administrative arrangements.

The new administrative machinery expresses the Government's determination to undertake sound and economical management of the nation's affairs.

Efficient and effective management of the Government's own administration is essential both for the achievement of prosperity and for genuine improvement in the position of the disadvantaged and in the standard of life of all Australians.

The Government is determined to ensure that its administration remains informed by practical considerations. Accordingly, community groups, business and labour must have access to Departments concerned with the practical, effective administration of policy.

These considerations are expressed in the reduction in the number of Departments, in the reallocation of functions between Departments, and in the appointment of an inner Cabinet.

The number of Ministers is reduced from twenty-seven to twenty-four. There will be a Cabinet of 12. The number of Departments is reduced from 28 at present, to 25.

An investigation will be made of all the functions presently carried out by Federal Departments and authorities. The investigation will be directed towards identifying those activities which either ought not to be carried out at all, which might be carried out more effectively and efficiently, or which might be more appropriately carried out by State or Local Government administrations.

A statement will be issued shortly concerning this investigation which begins immediately. It will draw upon the work of the Royal Commission on Australian Government Administration which is expected to submit its report by April 1976.

The new Ministry will be:-

## MINISTER

## DEPARTMENT

Hon. J.M. Fraser

Rt. Hon. J.D. Anthony

Hon. P.R. Lynch

Hon. I. McC. Sinclair

Sen. the Hon. R.G. Withers

Sen. the Hon. I. Greenwood

Sen. the Hon. R.C. Cotton

Hon. A.A. Street

Hon. A.S. Peacock

Hon. D.J. Killen

Hon. P.J. Nixon

Sen. the Hon. J.L. Carrick

Department of the Prime Minister & Cabinet

National Resources. Overseas Trade.

Treasury.

Primary Industry.

Administrative Services.

Environment, Housing and Community

Development.

Industry and Commerce.

Employment and Industrial Relations.

Transport.

Education.

Minister Assisting the Prime Minister

in Federal Affairs.

Foreign Affairs.

Defence.

Sen. the Hon. M.G.C. Guilfoyle

Social Security.

Mr R.J. Ellicott, O.C.

Mr J.W. Howard

Hon. R.V. Garland

Hon. R.J.D. Hunt

Mr M.J.R. MacKellar

Mr A.E. Adermann

Mr R.I. Viner

Mr E.L. Robinson

Hon. J.E. McLeay

Mr K.E. Newman

Senator J.J. Webster

Attorney-General's.

Business and Consumer Affairs.

Postal and Telecommunications.

Health.

Immigration and Ethnic Affairs.

Northern Territory.

Aboriginal Affairs.

Capital Territory.

Construction.

Repatriation.

Science.

Senator Withers is to be Vice-President of the Executive Council.

Member of Inner Cabinet

A Minister Assisting the Prime Minister in Federal Affairs appointed for the first time in a Federal Ministry, reflects the importance which this Government attaches to restoring and promoting effective Federal/State relations.

The Chief Government Whip in the House of Representatives is Mr John Bourchier. The Government Whip in the Senate is Senator F.M. Chaney. The assistant Government Whip in the House of Representatives is Mr D.M. Cameron. The assistant Government Whip in the Senate is Senator K.J. Martin.

00000000

ķ