

PRIME MINISTER

PRESS STATEMENT NO. 17

14 December 1972

MEMBERSHIP OF THE COMMONWEALTH GRANTS COMMISSION.

The Prime Minister, Mr. Whitlam, announced today that Professor Russell Mathews had been appointed a Member of the Commonwealth Grants Commission for three years.

The Prime Minister said that he had consulted with Mr. Frank Crean about Professor Mathews' appointment.

Professor Mathews has held the Chair of Accounting and Public Finance at the Australian National University since 1965. He is also the Director of the Centre for Research on Federal Financial Relations in the A.N.U.

Professor Mathews' work in this area has included the publication of books on public finance in Australia. His publications include "Public Investment in Australia: a Study of Australian Public Authority Investment and Development" and "Federal Finance" by Professor Mathews and Mr. W.R.C. Jay.

The other members of the Grants Commission are Sir Leslie Melville, K.B.E., Chairman, and Mr. W.R. Lane.

CANBERRA. A.C.T.