PM Transcripts

Transcripts from the Prime Ministers of Australia

Transcript 7868


Photo of Hawke, Robert

Hawke, Robert

Period of Service: 11/03/1983 to 20/12/1991

More information about Hawke, Robert on The National Archive website.

Release Date: 12/01/1990

Release Type: Media Release

Transcript ID: 7868

The Chairman of the National Selectors, Mr Lawrie Sawle, and
I have selected the following team to represent the
Prime Minister's XI against Pakistan at Manuka Oval on
31 January: Allan Border ( Captain) Queensland
Michael Bevan ACT and South Australia
Jamie Cox Tasmania
Damien Fleming Victoria
Wayne Holdsworth New South Wales
Darren Lehmann South Australia
Joe Scuderi South Australia
Steve Storey Queensland
Mike Veletta Western Australia
Mark Waugh New South Wales
Tim Zoehrer( Wicket Keeper) Western Australia
Matthew Wade ( 12th Man) A. C. T.
I am particularly pleased that this year's side has a strong
emphasis on youth. The AIS Commonwealth Bank Cricket Academy
has three representatives in Michael Bevan ( following in
Greg Irvine's footsteps as the second ACT player to be
selected), Jamie Cox, and Joe Scuderi.
Damien Fleming, Wayne Holdsworth, Darren Lehmannn and
Steve Storey have all made valuable contributions to their
respective Sheffield Shield teams this season, with Darren
Lehmann in particular producing a series of electrifying
performances. The inclusion of Mike Veletta, Mark Waugh and Tim Zoehrer
adds an element of experience, and the opportunity to play
under the great Allan Border is something all the players
will benefit from.
I am confident that this team will provide tough competition
for Imran Khan's Pakistan team which has built up an
qenviable international record in recent years and includes
imit mnrYPslllIl9 nlynnir

Transcript 7868