PM Transcripts

Transcripts from the Prime Ministers of Australia

Transcript 3163


Photo of Whitlam, Gough

Whitlam, Gough

Period of Service: 05/12/1972 to 11/11/1975

More information about Whitlam, Gough on The National Archive website.

Release Date: 18/02/1974

Release Type: Media Release

Transcript ID: 3163

" 4 > A
PRIME MINISTER Press Statement No. 189
18 February 1974
The Prime Minister, Mr. Whitlam, today announced the following
appointments, which were approved by the Executive Council:-
Mr. T. K. Critchley has been appointed High Commissioner
of Papua New Guinea from 29 March. Mr. Critchley has been
Australian Ambassador to Thailand since 1969. He was
High Commissioner to Malaysia in 1957/ 65, and Senior
External Affairs representative in London in 1966/ 69.
Mr. Critchley, 58, will replace Mr. L. W. Johnson, who
will be recommended to the Executive Council for appointmient
as head of the Australian Development Assistatice Agency.
Mr. V. E. Jennings has been appointed a part-time member
of the C. 5. I. R. O. Executive. Mr. Jennings, who is Managing
Director of A. V. Jennings Industries ( Australia) Pty. Ltd.,
will take up his appointment from 26 March.
The appointment is for three years. He replaces
Sir Henry Somerset, who is retiring.
Mr. C. H. Webb has been appointed Administrator of
Christmas Island. Mr. Webb, a former will take
up his appointment, which is for one year, on 15 March.
He replaces Mr. F. S. Evatt.
Two appointments have also been made to the Commonwealth
Banking Corporation Board. Both appointments are for
five years. Professor L. F. Crisp and 1Mr. J. J. Kennedy.
Professor Crisp has been Professor of Political Science
at the Australian National University since 1950.
He was Director-General of Post-War Reconstruction in
1949/ 50. Mr. Kennedy, a Brisbane Accountant is
proprietor of a chain of electrical retail stores.
He was been appointed as a member of the Post Office
Commission of Inquiry in February 1973.
Professor Crisp and Mr. Kennedy will replace Sir Reginald
Groom and Mr. R. J. Baxter, whose terms of office have

Transcript 3163